Skip to content

Joan Wheeler spins a tale of deceipt and gets all tangled up in a web of her own making.

by on September 7, 2011

On September 1, 2011, Gert posted the blogpost “Joan Wheeler discusses the dysfunction of others: just more outlandish lies” about Chapter 28 in Joan’s lying book. The chapter starts on page 314, and is entitled “Dysfunction and Letting Go.” And is filled with such disgusting lies that I want to slap Joan across the face. In this post, I refute some of those lies, using JOAN’S OWN WORDS from a letter she sent me. Not to me, that is, it was a letter to someone else, but she sent me a copy.

BUT BEFORE WE CONTINUE HERE’S AN UPDATE 

UPDATE January 2016; as older posts are being seen I’m updating with links to my second blog and a Facebook page wherein I expose AGAIN the lies, fabrications and hate that Joan M Wheeler says about me and family. After the first book was pulled from publication by the publisher, May 2011, she has ‘self-published’ yet again, her ‘story’, NOW called ‘duped by adoption’. There is NOTHING in it for adoption reform, for she is totally against adoption and her two families. To learn more see…

https://gertmcqueen2.wordpress.com/

https://www.facebook.com/dupedbyadoption1

AND NOW WE RETURN TO THIS POST 

In mid-February 1995, I received a large manilla envelope from Joan Wheeler. Inside were photocopies of several letters that she had written to various people. On December 31, she wrote to the Child Abuse center in Albany, New York, to accuse me of placing a child abuse report against her. According to Joan, I called, giving my true name, and naming my fiancé as sexually molesting Joan’s children.

On January 6, 1995, she wrote a letter to Mr. P. S, then Director of Patient Accounts where I worked. This was apparently a follow up letter to a previous letter she had written to Mr. S. back in September 1994 accusing me of hacking into hospital computers and tampering with her hospital bill. The hospital investigated, found me innocent, and informed Joan of such. (I worked 11pm to 7am as a nurses’ aide, and the error with Joan’s bill was traced to a typo that occurred at 4pm – and the computers on the nursing station were not even connected to the billing computers). But Joan was determined to MAKE me guilty, and proceeded to call the hospital almost daily for months, trying to get me fired. When I received the photocopy of this letter to Mr. S., I went to see him and he told me the whole story. I also questioned several other people and they told me that yes, Joan had been calling and making a nuisance of herself. A meeting was called by administration – people were advised to hang up when Joan called and they were told to not to tell me. My employer protected me from Joan.

The envelope also contained photocopies of these letters: On January 14, 1995, Joan wrote to Buffalo Police Detective Martin Harrington, who had handled the annoyance telephone calls complaint Joan had filed against me in the summer of 1993, and an annoyance telephone complaint that I filed against Joan on November 7, 1993. On January 26, 1995, she wrote letters to Erie County Kevin Dillon and , Anthony Masiello, then mayor of the city of Buffalo.  On February 3, 1995 she wrote a letter to Commissioner of Erie County Social Services Deborah Merrifield, and on February 20, 1995 she wrote a letter to New York State Senator Anthony Nanula.

The purpose of these letters were to accuse me of placing the child abuse complaint against her on December 22, 1994. Included in these letters were details of my personal life and my medical history. I used this packet of letters as a charge of harassment against Joan in March 1995. We went to court and the judge dismissed my claim, saying that sisters should get along. I was not happy with the judge’s ruling, as the letters, sent to elected officials, strangers to me, didn’t just accuse me of making the child abuse call, but gave out details of my personal life and medical background.  —  In this blog post, we will address the letter Joan wrote to Detective Harrington – this letter, and Joan’s words in this post are in blue: (see graphics at end of post to see the actual scanned letter).

January 14, 1995

Dear Detective Harrington,

I tried to call you several times, but no answer. And I left a message with a receptionist for you to call me back. Since I have not heard from you, I am sending this letter to re-open a case.

In May, June and July 1993 you helped me put a tracer on my phone when I lived at 580 Breckenridge St, Buffalo. The calls were indeed coming from the person I suspected: my sister, Ruth Sippel. On August 9, 1993, she was convicted of harassment and an Order of Protection was issued for six months: she was told to stay away from me and my children and my ex-husband. Ruth has kept up the telephone harassment, as indicated by the police report filed 11-17-93 in Kenmore. I did not pursue this one because I moved again and had to take care of a seriously ill daughter.

My ex-husband, Colby Bell, has been informed of this new activity. I do not suspect him of any wrong doing.

On December 22, 1994, two Child Protection Workers (Joe Pinto and M. Barbarosa) came to my door at 2:30pm. I let them in and Ms. Barbarosa read the report: “That (myself) Joan Wheeler and her mother Dorothy Wheeler, are neglectful of the children, Dennis and Catherine, because Joan’s current boyfriend, John Page, abuses the children in our home and we allow the abuse to take place.”

After talking with me, Ms. Bararosa and Joe Pinto determined the case to be unfounded and clearly my mother and I were the targets of harassment. It was a good thing that my 79 year old mother was not home at the time because the shock that she was being investigated for child abuse could have given her a heart attack. When I told her about the charges, she was spitting mad. Ms. Barbarosa came back to talk to the children two days after Christmas. They were asked question such as “Does Uncle John touch you in places that he shouldn’t?” and “Does he hit you?” My children have been traumatized by this line of questioning as they love their Uncle John and knew he would never hurt them.

John’s correct last name is Pace. He lives with Ruth Sippel. He has been my brother-in-law since 1988 and we all were friends since 1979. My children have always known John as “Uncle John.” No, he is not my boyfriend. Ruth thinks he is. She wants to control John and tell him who he can visit and who he can’t.

On the day I moved out of my home on Breckenridge St. (July 31, 1993) while Ruth was being investigated for telephone harassment, she entered my home without permission. She had followed John to our home. I called the police and Ruth went outside where she caused a big scene, screaming and yelling that John and I are having an affair. There were plenty of witnesses, in fact, she angered one couple to the point that they left.

Ruth needs to be prevented from causing any more harm to my family, and she needs to be told not to have any one else make harassing phone calls or any other form of harassment or abuse. Please contact me as soon as possible to discuss the procedure for pressing charges against Ruth Sippel for: Making a false report of child abuse, making such report with malicious intent to harm and harass, and for the continued telephone abuse.

I do not have John Pace’s home phone number (remember that he lives with Ruth Sippel. But their address is:—-.

John has asked me to give you this alternate phone number: 8**-****. This is his mother’s number, Dorothy Pace. She lives at —-. Buffalo, NY 14214. Please direct all correspondences to John at this address.

Your prompt response to this letter will be appreciated.

Sincerely,

Joan Wheeler

Dolores Wheeler

John Pace

I am going to refute this letter, along with what Joan says in the book, as there are points in this letter that contradicts what Joan has put in the book. But a little background:

Joan was receiving annoyance phone calls and she was blaming me. (as usual). In the spring of 1993, I began receiving greeting cards in the mail. The greeting cards were actually for my then fiancé, now husband, and signed by Joan’s children, but the envelopes were not addressed to John Pace, but to Ruth Sippel. In June 1993, I received another envelope addressed to me, but inside was a letter supposedly written by Joan’s 10 year old son and the letter was for John. Further examination of the letter shows that Joan had forged the letter, posing as her son.

I called Joan on the phone to find out why Joan was playing these games. Joan said “wait a minute.” And hung up. This was repeated 3 times. The following week, my electricity was cut off. Joan still owed me money – money that Joan and her husband Colby STOLE from me. I called Joan begging for help. Joan hangs up on her. In anger, Ruth called her back and did swear at her.

Joan had a tracetrap placed on her phone from the first of June because she was receiving harassment phone calls, which were NOT from Gert, Kathy, or Ruth. Because Joan had that trap in place, she baited me with that forged letter. And I took the bait, The trace trap did catch Ruth’s calls, (actual court document shows that ONLY the times and length of calls were taken, NOT actual conversations. – If the actual conversations WERE recorded, they would have reflected MY innocence. By the way, a tracetrap is NOT the same as a wiretap – A wiretap, which does record conversations, is ordered by law enforcement. A tracetrap (pre-caller ID and Smartphone [*69 and *57) services), only records the date, time and duration of a call. Sometimes, a trace back to the number is obtained, other times, it is not. Even when the Smartphone services were first used in the Buffalo area in spring of 1994, some traces were unsuccessful.

Sometime in July 1993, I received a phone call from police Det. Martin Harrington to explain the calls I made to Joan. I did so and when I mentioned the stolen money, Det. Harrington audibly gasped, said he would recommend that Joan drop any harassment charges.

Joan went ahead with her plans to take me to court. Joan signed the complaint in July 1993, not February 1993, as she says in the book. On August 9, 1993 we went to court, and Joan received a six-month order of protection against me, not a one year order of protection as she says in the book. I abided by the order of the court, and because of this, the restraining order was dismissed, after my behavior was evaluated when the six-month period was finished.

On page 325 of the book Joan says that the Order of Protection listed two addresses, the address on Breckenridge, and the new house she moved to. This is correct, and legal, because Ruth needed to be informed of where she was not supposed to go to. There was no phone number listed on the paper. Joan says in her book that I made phone calls to her new boyfriend (she names him Brian in the book). I did not know this man’s name or number and did NOT call the house.

Now to Joan’s letter to Det. Harrington:

“I tried to call you several times, but no answer. And I left a message with a receptionist for you to call me back. Since I have not heard from you, I am sending this letter to re-open a case.”

Well, we see how Det. Harrington jumps right on the case – by ignoring Joan. And no case was ever re-opened. Because in October 1993, I had submitted my own annoyance call complaint to the phone company due to a phone call that I had received from Joan Wheeler. On November 12, 1993, both John and myself, acting on instructions from Det. Harrington, signed a complaint with the telephone company that we were now receiving many annoyance calls. This is the excerpt of the calls log that I had started because I was receiving annoyance phone calls, starting on August 19, 1993:

10/25/1993

8:40am  Joan Wheeler called and started to leave a message on the answering machine, saying that she wanted to talk. I picked up the phone and asked why she was calling. She said she wanted to talk. I told her that she had no business calling my home. She then told me that she wanted to speak to John. I told her again that she had no business calling my home. She then became verbally abusive to me, saying, “Well fuck you.” I swore back at her, calling her an “evil fucking bitch,” and hung up.

No Joan, you canNOT get an order of protection against someone for annoyance phone calls, then 2 months later start calling that person’s house. But see how Dictator Joan is? SHE can do anything SHE wants, but no one else can.  In November 1993, a tracetrap was placed on our phone.We couldn’t get three calls from Joan in a two week period traced, so we were unable to pull her into court. Joan, having had a tracetrap on her line, and knowing how these things worked, made dam sure she wasn’t going to get caught.

In May, June and July 1993 you helped me put a tracer on my phone when I lived at 580 Breckenridge St, Buffalo. The calls were indeed coming from the person I suspected: my sister, Ruth Sippel.

First, I never made calls to her house in May or July 1993. They were on June 21, and June 28,1993. The calls that I made were in the afternoon, when her ex-husband was at work and her children in school, therefore, I was not a threat to them.  I have a copy of the actual complaint that Joan signed and it lists the THREE calls I made on June 21, and several calls made on June 28, of which, I only made TWO. See the posts Forbidden Family, by Joan Wheeler pages 316, 324, and 330 Clear evidence of lies from December 23, 2009 and Lies in the book Forbidden Family by Joan Wheeler from December 18, 2009  – which has supporting documentation from the courts, and from the electric company, verifying that I called them on that date at 2:28 pm. Calls were made to Joan’s house at the same time. There is no way I could be on the phone with the electric company AND calling Joan at the same time. I had called her TWICE to beg for money that she owed me, to get my electricity turned back on, when she hung up on me, I did call back and swear at her. – Those were the ONLY two times I called her on that date. Joan’s complaint shows that she was getting other hangup calls, clearly Joan was getting calls, but from another person and NOT me!

On page 314 Joan says that an investigation for annoyance calls began in February 1993 and lasted six months, which takes us to July 1993. She has Det. Harrington asking her who is Brandy Sippel? And Joan says “That’s Brenda’s cat.” (She calls me Brenda in the book, and no, Brandy was my DOG. And I don’t know why the police would even know my pets names. – Actually this whole business with the detective asking about Brandy shows it’s a lie. Because if the detective WAS investigating me, he would have known Brandy was a DOG. See my post of March 25, 2010,  Joan Wheeler, in her book Forbidden Family, can’t tell the difference between a dog and a cat. WTF? This post contains a picture of Brandy, a 65 pound Siberian Husky/Alaskan Malamute, along with some of her papers. Kinda hard to confuse a 65 pound dog with a 9 pound cat, doncha’ think? But thats just Joan and her garbage – and she got caught trying to stuff garbage in a police detective’s mouth. This is called misrepresentation Joan – and I hope Marty Harrington comes after you for slander and libel.

actually the explanation is quite simple – I had changed the name of my phone account to the name of Brandy Pace – NOT Brandy Sippel. And instructed the phone company not to list our street address in the phone book. This would save me the cost of paying for an unlisted number. People do this all the time.

addendum – correction – September 14, 2011 – geez, I must be getting senile! Ever since I read that book and saw where Joan has my dog’s name on my phone bill – I knew she was lying. I knew that I had changed my phone number and put my bill under a different name – but for the life of me, I couldn’t remember exactly what name I had used. This morning, going through a couple of letters that I had written to the district attorney in April 1995 , and had not really gone thru – I had only skimmed thru it last year – but on page 2, I write: “In another recent letter that Ms. Wheeler wrote to my neice, she admits that she (Ms. Wheeler) knows that I am listed with the phone company under “Brittany” Sippel. I had requested to be listed under that name to prevent Ms. Wheeler from obtaining my unlisted phone number. Since I had never informed her of this, the only way Ms. Wheeler could have found this information would be for her to call Directory Assistance and asking for any listing for my home address. For obvious reasons, I do not want her to have my phone number and I am concerned that she is trying to obtain it.”

Now, here in my post I said that I had the name listed as Brandy Pace. – because I couldn’t quite remember what name I had used, I reasoned that I must have used my fiance’s last name, but something was niggling me in the back of my mind that this was wrong. But I was working to get this post on the blog, and really couldn’t remember! But now I do. Back in 1992 – 93, (and perhaps to this day), the phone company wouldn’t let you have a different name on the listing as what was on the bill. So I asked if I could list it under my middle name. Which starts with B. I told the phone company my middle name was Brittany, and my number was unlisted.

So if Joan knew my phone number was listed as BRITTANY Sippel – why then did she write in her book that it was BRANDY Sippel. And you know what? I am convinced that Joan never confused a dog with a cat – by her using the name BRANDY, the name of my dog – this sick bitch was in essence calling me a DOG. What does she name me in the book? – BRENDA? Change only a couple of letters and you get BRANDY. She called me a swine once on her blog. –

So really, the detective did pose a valid question – but what is Joan’s answer? She says that Brandy is my cat. Then, like the intelligent woman she is, she has the detective saying “”Well, she’s got Brandy paying the bills at her residence! No kidding! The phone bill is in the name of Brandy Sippel!”
Joan answers, “Be on the lookout for Francois, he’s my sister’s other cat! Maybe he’s paying the gas bill!”

Wrong – neither my cat, nor my dog paid the bills at my house – John and I paid the bills. Cats and dogs do not have jobs, they do not have checking accounts, they do not write checks. Somehow, I can’t see a police detective making such a statement, but I can certainly see Joan saying it, and she did, right on top of page 315 in her stupid book. – and in the ext paragraph, Joan has the detective saying that he can’t do anything about the long distance calls coming in from Poughkeepsie, New York and England, but Joans quotes him “…but I’m recording what they say and I can identify who belongs to the line.”

WRONG, WRONG, WRONG. Joan did not have a wireTAP on her phone, but a tracetrap – a tracetap does NOT record any conversation. If it did, the phone company and the police would have known what my conversation on June 28, 1993 was: ring, Joan: “hello?” ruth, crying, “Joni, don’t hang up, I need help..” BANG! she hung up on me. I called her back and said “I need the money you owe me, my lights off. don’t hang up on me bitch.” BANG! she hung up on me. I didn’t call her back. IF THAT CALL WAS RECORDED, THEN DETECTIVE HARRINGTON WOULD NOT HAVE QUESTIONED ME WHY I CALLED HER! And furthermore, he would have known what the conversation was on June 21, when I called her to ask her why she was sending me a forged letter from her son. She said, hello, I said “this is Ruth.” She said, “hold on.” click, she hung up. I called back and asked “were we disconnected? Anyway..” click, she hung up. I called the third time, “why are you sending me forged letters..” click. Seems to me, if my words were recorded, the police would have known what I wanted when I called, and that it was not me who was hanging up and playing games…but Joan. But see how she MISREPRESENTS even a police officer and lies and stuffs words in his mouth.

Actual court documents, with the actual complaint that Joan signed on JULY 7. And Joan’s letter to Det. Harrington correctly reflects that the calls she was receiving was in the summer, and the calls that I made were received in June. Why does she say in the book that I called her in February? Also on page 316, Joan writes that the detective issued an arrest warrant for me, – WRONG! I was SUMMONED into court – I was NOT arrested.

On August 9, 1993, she was convicted of harassment and an Order of Protection was issued for six months: she was told to stay away from me and my children and my ex-husband.

This was true, yet on page 316, after she falsely says that an arrest warrant was issued for me, she says, “A Restraining Order was then issued to keep her away from me for a year.” – So what are we to believe? A letter written in January 1995 to the Buffalo Police detective who handled her case and who knew the truth, or her lying book? And why does she say here that on August 9, 1993, I was convicted of harassment and an order of protection was issued, yet on page 323, on August 1, I was in violation of the order of protection? An order of protection that hadn’t even been issued yet – BECAUSE ON AUGUST 1, WE HADN’T EVEN BEEN IN COURT YET!

Ruth has kept up the telephone harassment, as indicated by the police report filed 11-17-93 in Kenmore. I did not pursue this one because I moved again and had to take care of a seriously ill daughter.

Well, this is a surprise, because I never called her house. As I said above: “    On page 325 of the book Joan says that the Order of Protection listed two addresses, the address on Breckenridge, and the new house she moved to. This is correct, and legal, because Ruth needed to be informed of where she was not supposed to go to. There was no phone number listed on the paper. Joan says in her book that I made phone calls to her new boyfriend (she names him Brian in the book). I did not know this man’s name or number and did NOT call the house.”

Now, let’s see what she says here: “as indicated by the police report filed 11-17-93. I’ve got news for you folks: there was NEVER a police report made. If there was, and I had phoned her house, in violation of the restraining order – I would have heard about it! And as my behavior was evaluated in February 1994, and the restraining order was dismissed, there is something dam fishy in this statement!

John’s correct last name is Pace. He lives with Ruth Sippel. He has been my brother-in-law since 1988 and we all were friends since 1979. My children have always known John as “Uncle John.” No, his not my boyfriend. Ruth thinks he is. She wants to control John and tell him who he can visit and who he can’t.

At the time of this letter, 1995, John and I were not legally married, so John was NOT her brother “in law.” No, she was NOT “all friends” with John since 1979. I met him in 1978, she didn’t meet him until 1984, when we three went to see the movie “2010: The Year We Make Contact.” We became romantically involved in 1986, not 1988. I never said he was Joan’s boyfriend. – Speaking of controlling – notice how she includes John’s name at the bottom of the letter, making it seem as though my own fiancé is making a police report against me? BUT WHERE IS HIS SIGNATURE?  So now we see Joan even trying to manipulate a Buffalo Police Detective! She wants to control John, me, even police detectives!

On the day I moved out of my home on Breckenridge St. (July 31, 1993) while Ruth was being investigated for telephone harassment, she entered my home without permission. She had followed John to our home. I called the police and Ruth went outside where she caused a big scene, screaming and yelling that John and I are having an affair. There were plenty of witnesses, in fact, she angered one couple to the point that they left.

What witnesses? What are there names? Who are they? As an American Citizen, I have the right to face my accusers. And I demand if right now Joan – RIGHT NOW! and in the book on page 323, she says it was August 1. For a truthful book she doesn’t seem to get the truth very right now does she?

I want to add this part from the book, to address this issue from two sources at one time:

Page 324 Joan is describing her moving day and says that I showed up in violation of the restraining order. She says that John was helping her move, he took the bus to her house, I followed him in the car and entered her house without permission, left the house and screamed in the middle of the street that she was having an affair with John.

First – a contradiction, in one paragraph, she says that I showed up three hours late, but then she says I followed him in the car. Another lie – she says that I was in violation of the restraining order – but she was moving on July 31 – we hadn’t even gone to court yet – we did on August 9, and THEN the restraining order was given to her. She says in the book that she called the police. Well, now, if I was in violation of the restraining order, why wasn’t I arrested?

Joan also says this in her book about John: “Brenda (me) was partially right. Larry (John) had been secretly coming over to our house for a year. Secretly to her, but not to my husband. “

Here is what happened. And yes, I knew he was going over to Joan’s house to visit with the kids. After Joan had stolen the money from me in 1990, I refused to have anything further to do with her. John was fond of Joan’s kids and did continue to go there. In another place in the book, Joan says that I was going through his wallet. This is absolutely false. Joan says over and over that I accused them multiple times of having an affair. WRONG! NEVER SAID IT. If I suspected John of having an affair, why then did I end up buying a house with him in 1996 and eventually marrying him in 2002, and we are still together?

As we have pointed out time and time again on this blog, Joan is a Master Manipulator and Joan was able to manipulate John. Because he didn’t have a proper birth certificate and Joan told him that she would straighten that out for him. — She never did.

John was born out of wedlock to a teen mom in the 40’s. And he had a birth certificate under his mom’s name, but when he was placed in Catholic school, his stepfather enrolled him with his last name. He never had a birth certificate from his mother. Nor was he ever legally adopted by his stepfather.  When he joined the Navy in 1966, it was at the height of the Vietnam War, and they didn’t care if your paperwork was up to snuff or not. So they took him as John Pace, issued him a social security card and he’s been a Pace ever since.

And that’s one of the reason why John stayed in touch with Joan for help in that matter. Well, with Joan’s “expertise” in birth certificates, why didn’t she ever help him get his birth certificate? We were able to obtain his original birth certificate with his birth name of Dickerson in 2010 and filled out all the papers to have it all cleared up. No thanks to Joan – le Grand Frommage (Big Cheese) and Miss Know-it-all of Birth certificates! John had used his military and social security papers and other things to obtain our marriage license in 2002. In 2010, after we obtained his original birth certificate, we submitted everything to the Surrogate Court and he is now legally John Pace, even though he had been using that name for past 50 years! So now, his name is legal, our marriage is legal, our house is legal, WE ARE A COUPLE AND JOAN CAN’T DO A DAM THING ABOUT IT!

This whole nonsense of saying that I accused them of having an affair is because of her schemes to break us up! I firmly believe that it was JOAN who placed that child abuse call against herself in December 1994. And used MY name to do so, and named MY fiancé as the abuser! Because in March 1995, she sent a letter to John, via his mother’s house and in it, she’s telling him to get me to drop the harassment charges I filed, and then asks him if he’s leaving me!

Getting back to 1993, when she was moving out of her house, she encouraged him to lie to me. If we had been legally married, she could have been sued for alienation of affection. — the day before she moved, John told me he was going to help his friend Gino move. The next morning, just after John left, I received a call from my dad. And in talking he mentioned that Joan was moving. John took the bus, BECAUSE WE DIDN’T HAVE A CAR! My friend Twyla, who lived across the street from me, drove me there and there was John. I bitched him out for lying to me. – Way across the street from Joan’s house, was never in her house, nobody heard what we were saying. He left Joan’s house to take the bus home. Twyla and I had coffee. I went home and almost threw John out of the house for lying to me. But we agreed that we were not going to break up because of Joan’s manipulations. (John also had been advised by our good friends Don and Cedric, who lived on our street to patch things up with me).

So now here it is – 18 years later – and Joan failed in her attempt to break us up. She tried again in 1999, by sending me a letter telling me that John had gotten the next door neighbor pregnant and they had a daughter in 1994. WELL – THAT’S A SURPRISE! Considering who lived there – Danny and Genine, who did have a baby – a baby BOY –in 1991. And then Charlene moved there in 1994, and in 1995 – she had a baby BOY! There were NO GIRLS! And then the house was vacant. Really, if you’re going to engage in this kind of bullshit – GET IT RIGHT!

Please contact me as soon as possible to discuss the procedure for pressing charges against Ruth Sippel for: Making a false report of child abuse, making such report with malicious intent to harm and harass, and for the continued telephone abuse.

Again, we see how the detective answered her call to press charges against me. He never called her back, never answered her letter. I was never charged with making a false report of child abuse, never called her on the phone.

John has asked me to give you this alternate phone number: 8**-****. This is his mother’s number, Dorothy Pace. She lives at —-. Buffalo, NY 14214. Please direct all correspondences to John at this address.

Oh brother! What nonsense! John never authorized Joan to give out his mother’s address and phone number. Joan knew his mother’s address because she drove us over there a couple of times prior to 1990. And she knew the phone number. But she made one stupid mistake! She lists the zipcode as 14214 – WRONG! It is 14215!  – and notice how the whole letter is from JOAN’S point of view, but she puts John’s name to it! – that’s called misrepresentation!

Oh – and speaking of Dorothy Pace’s phone number – Joan started writing letters to her and calling her on the phone – all to get her mad at ME! Until her other son grabbed the phone and swore at Joan and told her if she bothered his mother again he would call the police on her. John was also pissed that she was bothering his mother. He even came home one day with a letter that Joan wrote to his mother and showed it to me. “Babe, what am I going to do?” – I told him that I was going ahead with my harassment charges, and everything should stop – but of course it didn’t. I also couldn’t resist an “I told you so” – because we had just had a conversation the second week in Feb. 1995 about this, warning him, and here it was – a month later Joan was up to no good.

Oh – and here’s an nice anecdote for ya’ll! And I saved the best for last! Now that false child abuse call was made in December 1994? And John’s name was used? And so was MY name? Guess what? NOBODY EVER TOLD ME ABOUT IT!! Not John, because he knew I wouldn’t do that to him – NOT EVEN THE DAM CHILD ABUSE PEOPLE CALLED ME! I believe that THEY believed that I was being set up! Because nobody in their right mind is going to call a false abuse call, and use their own real name and name their fiancé!

So when did I first hear about it? The first week of February 1995! My girlfriend Francine called me up and asked me if I had called child abuse on Joan! Now what happened was this: Francine, who was looking to rejoin the work force now that her son was school aged, was going through a program through The Every Woman’s Opportunity, funded by the Erie County Social Services Dept. Joan was also going through a similar program, called Project Dandelion. (I didn’t know this until this day in Feb. 95 when Fran called me). The women of these programs were “graduating” at a big celebration – there was a buffet table, with food and drink, local politicians, local media. Francine had even delivered a speech, on camera (and yes, she was on Channel 7 WKBW News that night). The speech was entitled, “Dispelling the Myth of the Welfare Woman.”

Just before Francine delivered her speech, around 4pm, she noticed Joan enter the room with her two kids. Fran said the kids attacked the food as though they hadn’t eaten all day (they probably hadn’t). After Francine made her speech, Joan approached and her and began yelling at her. Accusing her of making the child abuse call. (um, I thought I was the one who made the call). Joan then began using obscenities, calling Francine a M-F’er and then she started calling me names. Francine was in a nice dress, high heels, but would  have punched out Joan, but the tv cameras were still there, and the politicians were there. BUT, a woman, who apparently was Joan’s sponser from Project Dandelion, actually told Joan to “shut the F up.”

After I got off the phone with Fran, I told John what Fran had said, and that’s when he told me what had been going on. He didn’t want to tell me, he didn’t want me to get upset. He believed in me. I told him in the past that he needed to stop going to Joan’s house, being a friend to Joan was toxic, but he didn’t want to listen to me. (men!) I told him again on that particular day in Feb. 1995, that he needed to cut ties with Joan once and for all, even if he was fond of the kids, because there was too much shit going on, and now Joan was harassing his mother. John never went to Joan’s house again. And yes, the kids lost an uncle, but who’s fault is that? JOAN’S! – and as revenge, for John stopping going over to her house, she tries to get his mother involved the following month.

Now I have the supporting documents that prove everything I have said in this post is the truth. They have been scanned into my computer. Some of these have already been posted on this blog – the court documents pertaining to the 1993 court case – from Joan’s complaint, signed on July 7, 1993, to the electric company’s computer printout showing the time I was on the phone with them, to the restraining order itself, which gives the dates August 9, 1993 to February 9, 1994. I have the complaint to the phone company of John and me, dated November 7, 1993. I have the copies of the letters that Joan mailed to all those people in January 1995 and I have the letters that Joan wrote to John and his mother in March 1995.

Oh Joan – what a tangled web we weave when first we try to deceive. Your web blew up in your face.

Joan to Harrington page 1

Joan to Harrington – page 2

Leave a Reply

