Skip to content

Joan Wheeler’s Call to Arms part one

by on October 1, 2011
Joan Wheeler’s Call to Arms part one
Joan Wheeler’s Call to Arms on a public web site and on a public forum for adoptees…part one December 2009.

The purpose of this five part series, named ‘call to arms’, is to show, in one place, the extent that Joan Wheeler went through to pervent her blood siblings from speaking. And to show the kinds of people that are ‘out there’ beating their drums, kicking and screaming AGAINST adoption and ‘going after’ anyone who may be in their way. Their battle cry is one of hate and no one is safe.
First it must be recalled that Joan has a web-site called, Forbidden Family, in which she promotes her book, which now has been pulled from publication. On this web-site she also slanders and libels us, giving our full complete names and other private information. Her reasoning of doing so was because she felt that she COULD tell ALL on the blog and NOT in the book. She ‘changed’ our names in the book, but, gave plenty of real information about our family and ourselves that anyone could know whom she was writing about. That was one of the many reasons the book was pulled because she did NOT distance the real people from the real events that she presented and lied about. In any event, when Ruth discovered Joan’s book/adoption reform/slanderous-libelous material about ourselves and family, she started to answer Joan’s blog comments. Joan sees them, becomes frightened that she CAN’T prevent us from speaking and so enlists help from various places.
For further research know that the following internet site and Joan’s questions and comments has been blogged about previously on Ruth’s blog May 10, 2011 part 2..see
Before we see this particular website and Joan’s words I want to point out that, in a public forum comment on Adult Adoptees Advocating for Change, on March 8, 2010, which will be presented in its entirely in part two of this ‘call to arms’ series, Joan says the following:
Do you think I should publsih a psot or page with their names? Siince they have publsiihed their won names in full on their blog… I have got to get them away from me…
Now remember, she says this AFTER she had already published our names on HER BLOG and on the following website, which she did AFTER Ruth started the Refuting Blog in December of 2009! Joan Wheeler NEVER knows HOW to cover up her tracks nor does she stop lying! Saying it again: after Joan has published our names, on her blog and on the following website…she THEN asks the adoptees if she SHOULD do it! (Ruth’s note, October 1, 2011 – I won’t be commenting on this blogpost or Gert’s other post at this time, as I am tied up at the present time – I just want to point out that whenever Gert or I quote  Joan from her website, the adoptee forum, or other websites, the spelling and grammatical errors are not ours, they are JOAN”S. We have merely copied and pasted what Joan wrote. Joan, the great and wonderful author, makes many many spelling mistakes, typos, grammer mistakes, doesn’t proof-read what she writes, yet in one particular post tells an opponent of hers that her (the opponent) her grammer is “atrocious.” Joan simply loves to insult people. )
So here is the first of five, my comments will be at the end between ***   ***.
Dec 19, 2009 Refuting Some of Joan Mary Wheeler’s Statements « Refutting There is another sister by the name of Gert McQueen who lives in Watertown,
www.justanswer.comPersonal Injury LawCached
 Customer Question

I am a disabled social worker on SSI; limited income. I just published a book that is memoir and social activism. I am an adoptee reunited with my natural family for 35 years. My three old sisters (ages 57, 61, 62) have been harassing me by various methods for overwww.justanswer.comPersonal Injury Law three decades, and so have adoptive relatives. They attacked me for: writing articles in the paper for adoptees’ civil rights to our sealed birth certificates and now, because I have published my book. I’ve had numerous Orders of Protection, but they keep bothering me. I want them to stay away from me forever. No contact at all. My sisters that I was reunited with have used hate mail, hate phone calls to invade my home and homelife. They’d die down for a few years, and then start up again. They even charged my then-80 year old adoptive mother with sex abuse, and me, because, according to the workers who showed up at the door, “I was having sex with my sister’s boyfriend on the living room couch and my mother forced the kids to watch.” We went through three months of court in 1997 to clear our names. Now, my sisters are publically humiliating me. They shut down my two former blogs because they do not want me to write a book about my life. Yes, I followed a lawyer’s advice on how to write a book. I am an adoption activist. They read my website, twist what I say, and then they post malicious and libelous material on their blogs naming me outright. I went to the police. No help. Freedom of Press. Really? What they are writing is turned away readership from my blog, which means, I have not only lost credibility, but business in not selling my book. How can I get them to cease and desist? Thank You, Joan Wheeler Buffalo, New York USA My website: http://forbiddenfamily.com My book’s sales link: http://www.trafford.com/Bookstore/BookDetail.aspx?BookId=SKU-000137652 My sisters’ blogs to attack me: http://chayelet.wordpress.com/ — Kathy Inglis uses the name of Chayelet. This woman lives in Liverpool, England • ruthsippelpace.wordpress.com/…/my-journal-of-joan-wheelers-abuse/ – Cached This woman lives in Buffalo, New York, several miles away from me. • Refuting Some of Joan Mary Wheeler’s Statements « Refutting There is another sister by the name of Gert McQueen who lives in Watertown, New York. How can I protect myself from them?

Submitted: 465 days and 17 hours ago.
Category: Personal Injury Law
Value: $15
Status: CLOSED
 Optional Information
State/Country relating to question: New York
Already Tried:
Police, no help, they said Freedom of Speech so my sisters can say anything online that they want to, even namimng me outright and maliciously defmaing me. I feel my personal and professional reputation has been ruined. I cannot afford to pay for a lwyer as my income in only$697 per month. But I could sell the book and write more books. Please look at those websites and tell me what I can do. Also, the one inn Liverpool states that I haev tried to deport her. I have no idea what she is talking about. I have not seen her since 1979 when I visited Liverpool, UK. We last spoke on the phone in 1988. The three sisters have written me a letter “throwing” me out of the family in 1992. I do not have contact with tham at all, but they find ways to harass me. Like getting my unlisted phone number from another relative and calling me. Now, it is cyber bullying and stalking and nalicious attacks upon me. Can I get them to pay me restitution for malicious defamtion of character and lying which drives people away frommy website?
 Accepted Answer
 You can stop your sisters and you can sell your books. You can sue them for harassment and intentional infliction of emotional distress. This way you could get monetary damages and an injunction to stop them from bullying you on their blogs. If they are preventing people from buying your book, you may also have a claim tortious interference with contract. You can also sue them for libel and slander, for lying about on their websites. You may also have another claim for tortious interference with contract because they froced you to shut down your websites. However, you will need a lawyer who can take this case to trial. There are personla injury lawyers who charge on a contingency fee basis. This way, they do not get paid unless you win. Call your local bar and ask for names of personal injury lawyers who specialize in these types of claims. Research these names. Go on www.marindale.com. Good luck and remember to press accept so that I may get credit.
end of entry
Gert’s comments: ***God, where to begin!! For openers let’s mention that Joan has NOT sued us or sent any lawyer or law-enforcement to my door! She can’t because she has NO CASE.  She spent good money on the above internet question and answer when anyone with brains KNEWS that she would have to put down several thousand dollars as retainer and then pay additional costs and she would lose! She knows that but she works the system and has gone to and pissed off so many lawyers in the past that even if she HAD the money she wouldn’t be able to keep a lawyer! No she just doesn’t have a case.
But…look at what she put out there! Pointedly gave our full names and cities out on the web!
 My sisters’ blogs to attack me: http://chayelet.wordpress.com/— Kathy Inglis uses the name of Chayelet. This woman lives in Liverpool, England • ruthsippelpace.wordpress.com/…/my-journal-of-joan-wheelers-abuse/– Cached This woman lives in Buffalo, New York, several miles away from me. • Refuting Some of Joan Mary Wheeler’s Statements « Refutting There is another sister by the name of Gert McQueen who lives in Watertown, New York.
I’m not even going to address all the lies, misrepresentations, gross exagerrations and other garbage. We have seen plenty of her lies and the truth beyond them. This post is to show that Joan Wheeler INTENTIONALLY published our names and then slandered us BEFORE she commented on the Adult Adoptees public forum! Any one who has had any connection with Joan knews that she is a very dangerous person and you are forewarned to stay away from her. ***
comments

okay, I will leave a comment.
First, look at what she writes to the online “lawyer” – she complains that her sisters have invaded her privacy. yet, IN THIS VERY POST – Joan is invading OUR privacy! And the “lawyer” doesn’t even catch that! (would that lawyer be a stocky Russian man living in Siberia with the name Peggy?)
Second, she has written this in 2009, and says “Also, the one inn Liverpool states that I haev tried to deport her. I have no idea what she is talking about.” – what a liar! On page 315 – she addresses this issue, when talking to a police detective in 1992.
Third,we did not shut down her two former blogs – JOAN herself shut them down. In early 2009 she started a new blog on wordpress, and switched things from her blogspot blog over to the wordpress blog. In October 2009, she angered gays and made an anti Jewish remark. A complaint was made about the anti-Jewish remark, and wordpress removed ONLY that particular post. Joan, in her anger, went to Startlogic and built a site that she paid for. She then moved all her stuff from her wordpress blog over to the startlogic blog and shut down the wordpress blog ON HER OWN VOLITION, saying that she would not be censored. She then went to the adoptee forum and urged the adoptees to complain to wordpress about my blog. “If enough of us complain, we can get those fuckheads shut down.”
As to us taking away any business from her – again, no, we did not. We merely pointed out to Trafford Publications several libelous statements about us that were made by Joan in her book. Along with the court documents that proved what she said in the book were lies. It was Trafford who pulled the book from publication.
As to her “ruined credibiltiy” -well Joan – you made your bed – now lie in it.
I told you before – stick to the truth and you’ll never go wrong.

  • karen permalink

    Wow Joan really needs to learn to PROOF READ and spell correctly! There is such a thing now called SPELL CHECK! As far as her credibility…she ruined that herself.  And I still can’t fathom how she is a disabled social worker when she never really worked?? Not in the social work area that I am aware of. Or did I miss that??

  • addition comment by Gert

for those who may not know it…Karen is my daughter

continue reading this great five part sequence at: Joan Wheeler’s Call to Arms Part Two

3 Comments
  1. okay, I will leave a comment.
    First, look at what she writes to the online “lawyer” – she complains that her sisters have invaded her privacy. yet, IN THIS VERY POST – Joan is invading OUR privacy! And the “lawyer” doesn’t even catch that! (would that lawyer be a stocky Russian man living in Siberia with the name Peggy?)
    Second, she has written this in 2009, and says “Also, the one inn Liverpool states that I haev tried to deport her. I have no idea what she is talking about.” – what a liar! On page 315 – she addresses this issue, when talking to a police detective in 1992.
    Third,we did not shut down her two former blogs – JOAN herself shut them down. In early 2009 she started a new blog on wordpress, and switched things from her blogspot blog over to the wordpress blog. In October 2009, she angered gays and made an anti Jewish remark. A complaint was made about the anti-Jewish remark, and wordpress removed ONLY that particular post. Joan, in her anger, went to Startlogic and built a site that she paid for. She then moved all her stuff from her wordpress blog over to the startlogic blog and shut down the wordpress blog ON HER OWN VOLITION, saying that she would not be censored. She then went to the adoptee forum and urged the adoptees to complain to wordpress about my blog. “If enough of us complain, we can get those fuckheads shut down.”
    As to us taking away any business from her – again, no, we did not. We merely pointed out to Trafford Publications several libelous statements about us that were made by Joan in her book. Along with the court documents that proved what she said in the book were lies. It was Trafford who pulled the book from publication.
    As to her “ruined credibiltiy” -well Joan – you made your bed – now lie in it.
    I told you before – stick to the truth and you’ll never go wrong.

  2. karen permalink

    Wow Joan really needs to learn to PROOF READ and spell correctly! There is such a thing now called SPELL CHECK! As far as her credibility…she ruined that herself. And I still can’t fathom how she is a disabled social worker when she never really worked?? Not in the social work area that I am aware of. Or did I miss that??

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Joan Wheeler’s call to arms…a new 5 part series « Refuting a Book of Lies: Forbidden Family –

Leave a Reply

