Skip to content

A Lulu of a looloo! Joan Wheeler’s escapades at Lulu’s Roadhouse.

by on March 11, 2012

A Lulu of a looloo! Joan Wheeler’s escapades at Lulu’s Roadhouse.

Back in 1975, I treated Joan Wheeler to a one-years membership to the Leonard Nimoy (Star Trek’s Mr. Spock) fan club. In one of the fanclub newsletters was an advertisement to the Peter Noone fanclub. Peter Noone was a pop singer and teen idol, better known as Herman in the band Herman’s Hermits. Joan, who was a big fan of Peter, joined his fan club and corresponded with him. Around the late 1970’s, Joan became friendly with my step-aunt Helen, who was self-employed as an insurance agent, tourist agent and local booking agent/contact for singer John Denver. My aunt Helen met John Denver through a musician named Mike Taylor, who co-wrote Denver’s 1972 hit song Rocky Mountain High, and played guitar on the album named Rocky Mountain High. Mike Taylor is a Buffalo, New York native who grew up on the West Side. He was a teen friend of Helen’s sons David and Anthony. In the 1960’s, Helen’s house on Barton Street, near W. Ferry and Herkimer, was the neighborhood distrubution center for the Buffalo Evening News. Newspaper kids from the surrounding neighborhoods came to pick up their papers. Along with my step-cousins, Mike was also a newspaper carrier. My step-aunt became a second mom to him, as he spent much of his time at her house learning guitar with David and Anthony, and sometimes, my stepbrother John. So it was through Mike that my step-aunt met John Denver and she even took the name of his 1975 album Windsong, as the name of her insurance/travel/talent agency in the late 1970’s.

By 1982, Peter Noone was touring America in a road show of the musical Pirates of Penzance. On page 224 in her book, Joan relates going to New York City to see Peter in this show.

The arrangements were made by the fan club and Joan met Peter and his wife Mireille, in Peter’s dressing room. Joan later told me that she wanted to learn the ropes of the talent booking agency business and be a booking agent for Peter. I thought that was pretty cool!

This never happened though. In 1983, Joan got married. On her wedding day in May 1983, Joan received a telegram from Peter and his wife Mirielle congratulating her on her wedding. Joan framed the telegram and hung it in her living room. I was kind of impressed with it. Joan relates this anecdote on page 227 of her book. There is no further mention of Peter in her book.

Sometime in the summer of 1984, in the late morning on a Saturday, my phone rang. It was Joan and she was upset. She said she did a stupid thing the night before. What? Well, she had gone up to Kitchener, Ontario to see Peter Noone in concert. Oh, well, why would she be upset? Weeelllll, it appears that Joan had a bit too much to drink. And she ended up in a back room of the venue and particpated in a “private party.” Oh. At this point Joan was crying a little bit. “I have already talked to my therapist this morning and told her the whole story. And she said that I need to make a decision. That if that is the kind of lifestyle I don’t want, then I need to make better decisions.” or words to that effect. I do remember saying to Joan, “That sounds like good advice.” I believe at some point I asked if Peter was at the party, and she said no. But she didn’t want him to think bad of her. Then she asked me a favor. She wanted me to go with her that night to go back to the bar so she could talk to Peter and find out if he had heard anything about her being at the party. I hesitated. At that point in time, my husband Abdo worked 12 hour shifts, getting home around midnight. As I started work at 11:00pm, there were times that we didn’t see each for days. This particular Saturday night, I was not working, and would be able to see him. But Joan said we would be home by midnight, so I agreed.

So around 6:30 – 7pm, we left for the almost one hour drive to Lulu’s Roadhouse. Lulu’s was a huge bar – in fact it was an old K-Mart store. We got there, got some drinks, I don’t remember when Peter performed. Maybe it was 9pm. I had a great time. After he was done singing, he greeted fans, since he knew Joan, he said hello, then his wife Mirielle came over and said hello. Joan introduced me to Peter and Mirielle. They were very nice. Then they left the stage area. There were people around. So Joan couldn’t talk to Peter alone. I went back to my table and a drink. Most of the time, I was by myself. Joan was off doing – I don’t know what! The dj played nice music though. 10:30pm, I hunted Joan down. She hadn’t spoken to Peter yet. He’s always with someone. 11:00pm, um Joan – come on – I want to go home now. No, she still hadn’t spoken to Peter. 11:30 – no, not yet. 12:00 – no not yet. 12:30, I finally grabbed her standing next to Peter and right in front of him I said, “Joan, it’s 12:30, I told you I wanted to be home by 12. and it’s still an hour’s drive home.” Peter looked sort of funny at me. I turned to him and said, “My husband works 12 hours and sometimes I don’t see him, but tonight, I will be able to see him if I get home before he goes to bed.”  Peter smiled and said, “oh, I get it.” (or words to that effect). Joan finally blurted out, “Peter, can I talk to you before we go?” And he said yes, and they walked off alone together. After a few minutes, Joan came back and said, “everything’s ok, let’s go.”

Here is proof of Peter Noone appearing at Lulu’s in 1984

http://robin-schroffel.suite101.com/interview-with-peter-noone-of-hermans-hermits-part-2-a287494 

Sept. 2010 Peter talks about a comeback, saying “”We should be the first-ever contemporary oldies band.” and mentions the year 1995 and the internet. He mentions Lulu’s, a stripper’s bar in an old K-Mart. Peter apparently had a senior moment and gets his facts mixed up. First, it was not a stripper’s bar – but a music roadhouse. Second, it was not 1995, but 1984. There was no internet in 1984. And no, his was not the first-ever contemporary oldies band. In 1986, I attended an oldies revival concert by The Monkees, The GrassRoots and Gary Puckett & The Union Gap.

Information about Lulu’s:

http://wikimapia.org/6852555/Formerly-Lulu-s-RoadHouse

Lulu’s Roadhouse opened in 1984. It was the largest nightclub of it’s kind, holding over 4000 people and setting a record for the world’s longest bar. Some of the most famous entertainers of all time performed at Lulu’s…and one of Ontario’s most famous house bands opened for them (and sometimes backed them) – the Lulu’s Roadhouse Band. Alas, the legendary Lulu’s Roadhouse closed its doors in April 2000. Before Lulu’s it was North Americas largest K-mart store at the time!!

Ruth here again. A musician, Larry D. has a website about Lulu’s at Larry D’s Music Memories

http://www.littleshopofvoices.com/tuneman/lulus2.html 

On another page, http://www.littleshopofvoices.com/tuneman/artists.html – he lists the artists who played the first year Lulu’s opened (1984) – it lists “The Hermits.” – There was some kind of legal thingy – Peter couldn’t perform as Herman, but as Peter Noone, or The Hermits, I don’t remember exactly what it was all about.

On another page, http://www.littleshopofvoices.com/tuneman/music2.html is a picture of him and Peter – scroll down right hand menu and click on Peter Noone’s name. Larry confirms that he left Lulu’s in 1985. So the picture of him and Peter was not from 1995, but 1984.

Joan never had anything more to do with Peter. In fact, in 1989, when Joan first got mad at our sister Kathy, she blamed Kathy for Peter’s loss of contact with her. (Because Peter is from England). No, Kathy does not really know Peter. I believe she has met him once or twice, but is not on a “first name basis” with him. Seems to me as though Peter and Mirielle found out about Joan being at that private party and dropped her like a hot-potato. Which is what everybody does after they find out just what kind of person Joan really is.

This wasn’t the only time Joan did something while drunk and got scared that she was going to be found out. In 1991, one August Sunday morning, at 5am, a very drunk Joan showed up at my house. It seems that an Irish folk singer came into town and Joan got drunk and engaged in another private party. She came to my house because she was afraid her husband would find out that she cheated on him. ????? Oh dear. And that folk singer also dropped Joan like a hot potato. And again, Kathy got the blame. Because he lived in the same city that Kathy did. Poor Kathy. Like she needs to tell all these singers that Joan is a bad person. Get real. You know, men have little to no respect for tramps and groupies. They take them for what they are. Wam, bam, thank you ma’am.

Anywho – you think I’m making this up? I got witnesses! Yep – my husband John, his cousin Joyce, and Joyce’s two daughters – who were living with us. Joan woke the whole household up. Joan was in the middle of my living room carrying on – woke two little girls up – Joyce was furious. I was like – shut the f up. John was like, oh god! lol. I can laugh now, but at the time, it was not funny. Um, what did Joan’s therapist tell her in 1984? And did Joan listen? NOPE! And did Joan EVER learn? NOPE! Because in her book, she’s relating the same drunken sotten behavior and driving drunk in 2007!

But the best part of this story happens on March 5, 2012, when Joan, pulls up an old post of mine, and in trying to drag me through the mud, when I threatened to tell the story of Lulu’s – Joan says “you mean the time I was RAPED?”

RAPED? RAPED? WHAT THE HELL IS THE MATTER WITH THIS BROAD? RAPED?

Now, remember what I said about Peter having a senior moment about the year he appeared at Lulu’s? Now, he and his wife met Joan personally, knew her enough to go out of their way to send her a telegram when she got married. So if they knew that one of his fans got RAPED attending one of his shows – the year it happened would have been seared into his brain! It’s not anything you would forget! And if Joan was raped – why would she return the second night? No, she was never raped – she’s trying to cover her ass again. And is doing it in a very despicable way. How dare you Joan – you are one of those broads that make it hard for true rape victims to get believablity. You moron. You are truly disgusting.

Rape victim my ass. My best friend was brutally beaten and raped in front of her six year old child. As soon as I heard about it, about 36 hours later, I was at her side. I spent the next 50 some hours with her. I held her hand at the police station while she gave her statement, which meant she had to go through every painful moment in detail. I slept in her son’s bed that night cradling that child. Who witnessed his mother being RAPED! And when the rapist was finally caught, we had to go through the trial. And again, every detail had to come out and be relived again. I know how a true rape victim acts, and Joan has never acted like a rape victim – never – and certainly NOT THE NIGHT I WENT WITH HER BACK TO LULU’S AFTER SHE CLAIMS SHE WAS RAPED. WHAT BULLSHIT! AND SHE WASN’T RAPED THE SECOND NIGHT EITHER – COS SHE WAS NOT UPSET AT ALL! WHAT A FILTHY LIAR!

Joan has the audacity to engage in a private sex party with multiple partners, (with a new husband and baby son at home), be so concerned with her silly ass reputation with a singer that she had to return the next night and feel him out if he heard about it, then 30 years later say she was RAPED? I swear there are times I just want to slap her. Joan was NOT raped, and I hope Peter reads this and gets in touch with me via this blog and corroborates my story.

So Joan – if you were raped, what hospital did you go to? Did they do a rape kit on you? Who were the investigating officers? Who were the prime suspects? Peter’s roadies or employees of Lulu’s? Were they fired? What did Peter say? Did Peter fire his workers or bitch the management of Lulu’s out?

JOAN YOU SCUMBAG – YOU OWE EVERY RAPE VICTIM AN APOLOGY – JUST LIKE LAST YEAR – MARCH 2011 – WHEN YOU WENT ON THE HUFFINGTON POST AND BROADCASTED A LIE THAT MY GRANDFATHER SEXUALLY MOLESTED ME AND MY SISTERS WHEN WE WERE LITTLE – which by the way, never happened. And even if it did, what kind of scumbag puts that out on the internet? I told her then that she owed every survivor of child sexual abuse an apology. This woman knows no shame – she will use every filthy dirty trick to smear my name. Even claim child molestation, sullying my grandfather’s reputation some 50 years after he dies, then claims to be a rape victim – all just to “get” Ruth! But does it work? NO – because it always backfires on this dumb broad. What filthy bitch claims rape – just to make her own sister look bad? Only a scumbag like Joan Wheeler.

Peter Noone at Lulu’s 1984

Gert here…
thank you Ruth for enlightening us all about another one of Joan Wheeler’s antics that she lies about! It trully is amazing how Joan can alter events to suit her every whim. She really does not know what she is doing, from one moment to another. She GETS AWAY with it because she says it’s FROM MY VIEW…well…reality just doesn’t bend to a personal view…reality is what reality is, and as Joan Wheeler is a nut case she has a long, long, long, history of sexual activities that she alters when ever she feels the need to alter it. I know from personal experience with Joan how she says one thing, wants something, and then turns on you in a split second and then turns the tables and LIES and makes up all kinds of horrors that the OTHER PERSON DID TO HER.

When Joan Wheeler wrote a libelous, hateful book exploiting us and our families, she left herself WIDE OPEN for full discourse…and…if she DIDN’T want to have her life talked about, WHY WHY WHY, did she leave a comment on this blog??She keeps telling everyone HOW we are harassing her, but, it was HER WHO CONTACTED US with her lies

3 Comments
  1. Gert here…
    thank you Ruth for enlightening us all about another one of Joan Wheeler’s antics that she lies about! It trully is amazing how Joan can alter events to suit her every whim. She really does not know what she is doing, from one moment to another. She GETS AWAY with it because she says it’s FROM MY VIEW…well…reality just doesn’t bend to a personal view…reality is what reality is and Joan Wheeler is a nut case you has a long, long, long, history of sexual activities that she alters when ever she feels the need to alter it. I know from personal experience with Joan how she says one thing, wants something, and then turns on you in a split second and then turns the tables and LIES and makes up all kinds of horrors that the OTHER PERSON DID TO HER.

    When Joan Wheeler wrote a libelous, hateful book exploiting us and our families, she left herself WIDE OPEN for full discourse…and…if she DIDN’T want to have her life talked about, WHY WHY WHY, did she leave a comment on this blog??She keeps telling everyone HOW we are harassing her, but, it was HER WHO CONTACTED US with her lies.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. More Deluded Ramblings from Joan Wheeler’s Sick Diseased Mind « Reclaiming the Sippel-Herr Family Honor
  2. Joan Wheeler knows about personal boundaries…NOT. « Reclaiming the Sippel-Herr Family Honor

Leave a Reply

