Skip to content

A Tribute to Our Mother, Genevieve Ruth Herr Sippel – October 4, 1925 – March 28, 1956

by on March 28, 2012

Today, March 28, is the 56th anniversary of my mother, Genevieve Ruth Herr Sippel’s death. We were all so little when she died, we never got to know her as a person, as a woman. By all accounts, she was a fun-loving caring person. Gert has in her possession, Mom’s scrapbook. Pictures cut from magazines. Little picture vignettes that tell a great deal of what she was like. She like cats. She liked domestic and family life.  Her favorite movie stars were Victor Mature, Gene Tierney, and Linda Darnell.

She seems to have been a party person! Here is a picture of her on a night out on the town with my dad and some friends. She is on the left, sticking her tongue out at the camera. She has her arm around the shoulders of her best friend Jean Maier. My Dad is the middle, and their friends, Dorothy and Fred Bradley are on the right. The picture was taken by Jean’s husband, my godfather, Neal Cummings. This picture so reminds me of the good times that me and first husband Abdo had in our younger partying days.

She loved her goddaughter, my cousin Judy. She was a knockout! Abdo always called her a sexy lady and always regretted never having met her.

She loved all her family. And none of us will forget her, even though many years have passed. She is still close to our hearts. And many of my cousins honor her as well. – Even those who were born years after she died. This tells us she was a special lady.

Here is a picture of her with my dad and sisters Kathy and Gert. Mom has on a peasant blouse – it so reminds of my hippie/flower-child days.

And so today, we pay tribute to this fun-loving sexy lady who was taken from her children way too soon, and taken from the entire Herr family. We all miss and love her.

gertmcqueen

Gert here…

thank you Ruth for such a lovely tribute to our mother!

I have some very clear memories of her and I miss her all the time.

I raise a horn to the memory of our mother!

chayelet  is Kathy
 
Nice one Ruth!
 
From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. Gert here…

    thank you Ruth for such a lovely tribute to our mother!
    I have some very clear memories of her and I miss her all the time.
    I raise a horn to the memory of our mother!

  2. Nice one Ruth!

Leave a Reply

