Skip to content

Joan Wheeler admits that she has a mental illness!!!

by on April 5, 2012

 She maintains that adoption causes identity confusion and it is part of the mental illness that adoptees share and have! My, I didn’t know that Joan can make a diagnosis! Perhaps the board of ethics of Social Workers would like to know about this!

 On the public forum of Adult Adoptees Advocating for Change, 1adoptee, ie. Joan Wheeler, gives everyone her two cents worth. The first paragraph is a quote from someone that Joan (in italics) is answering. I then give my comments.

 
  Re: “This just in” from my a-mom! Why do a-rents lie so much??? « Reply #11 on: April 01, 2012, 02:26:56 PM »  

I asked well, what was my name when you got me, or was everyone calling me “kid”?.  She just says she doesn’t remember, but that they had “already decided”. I just glared and said within myself, “Well, I do…..” No wonder I have problems, and no wonder I am confused. If my birth first name was my name for the first almost year of my life, as of now, a lot of people are going to have to get used to it and start using it!

 Yeah, I found out when I was 18 that I had a first, middle, and last name before I was legally adopted. I had my name from birth. My a-rents “got me” when I was 4 months old, and with the time I spent in the incubator after birth, I don’t know for sure if I heard my name before birth or at all while in the incubator. I know that my mother held me before she died, so she surely would have called me by my name. And my godparents took care of me for a few months before my father relinquished me, so my aunt and uncle no doubt called me by my name at birth and baptism. And so my pre-adoptive parents started calling me by the name of their choosing when I was 4 months old. My name was legally changed 15 months after my birth when my amended birth certificate was created.

 This is identity confusion and it is part of mental illness caused by adoption. I am so sorry this happened to you. Six times changing caregivers in less than a year…that is horrible! No chance to develop security, recognition of caregiver, attachment. Infant emotional trauma during the first year, wow, what a find on the Internet. Yep, we’re left to deal with it. I’d be pissed, too, to find this out so late in life. 

 Gert’s comments: Okay I can understand how some early developmental stages of life can have some lasting effects on humans. But…a identity confusion resulting from being called two different names in early childhood and then calling it a mental illness is taking it a bit too far! And even if it was the source of a identity confusion issue, why, oh why, spend an entire life-time bitching about it! Identity confusion is NOT a mental illness, unless, you want to be a victim and have constant sympathy come your way! Be that as it may…in addition to this we see that Joan just can not help herself…she MUST give out these ‘I’ve been there and I know’ kinds of meaningless statements. That’s what’s really wrong with these self-perpetuating group meetings and talkings between sick people who just can’t seem to ‘get a life’! Everyone has problems, troubles, and everyone NEEDS a little help every now and again…but…to continue to ENABLE the dependency on the ‘feeling’ of inadequacies and doom does NOT get any one healthy! These people just want to continue to wallow in their diseased minds and get VALIDATED by others that are as sick as they are! What pisses me off the most is that Joan has no honor and decency, because she continues to use our mother, over and over again, for the purpose of her own personal worthless self-image. And she maintains that she ISN’T exploiting my mother and my father. What a crime! Only a mentally ill person would continue to do that and by Joan’s own words…she has a mental illness. 
    
the following is Ruth’s comment to this blog post – I can’t supersede the formatting of the quote box (blue background)

In August 1996, my husband brought home two kittens for me for my birthday. Two little sisters. I named them Isis and Athena. Isis was black and white, Athena was a striped tabby with a white belly. Athena grew while Isis remained tiny and then grew sickly. It turned out Isis had feline leukemia and had to be put down. Athena escaped the disease. But a month before I took Isis into the vet, I noticed Athena on top of Isis – humping away. And I noticed, Athena was developing strong shoulder muscles. I turned Athena over and saw that Athena was a male! I was so embarrased. I have had lots of kittys and have never confused their gender. Here at the age of six months, I discover that Athena was not a she, but a he!
I couldn’t keep calling him a female name, so I changed his name to Pippin.
At the age of six months, Athena/Pippin was about the age of a 12 year old human. Oh dear. I changed his name. It took a couple of weeks to learn his new name and respond to it. And oh dear, I took him away from his mama cat. Never mind that two days after John brought Isis and Athena/Pippin to our house, their mama and their remaining two siblings died. (we thought it was because of the deplorable conditions of their home – they were dirty and covered in fleas). So poor Athena/Pippin – she/he was the only survivor of his original family. And was not allowed to stay with his mama and die with her.
This year, Pippin turns 16. He is an extraordinary cat. He is very intelligent, but silly. He was chasing his tail a few months ago, and caught it. And bit it. Then he hissed because he got bit. He then spat – he was angry at himself! For bitiing himself!
Pippin adores me and John – his adoptive parents.
We know he views us as his parents. When a baby kitten is nursing, they spread their little front paws out and the fingers spread out – they knead mama’s breast to express the milk. When a cat is content with their human, they will purr and do the same kneading motions. If they are sitting on your lap your knees might get all scratched up. They are not doing this to harm you – they are thinking back to when they were kittens and are now sitting on the laps of their “parents”
We ARE their parents. We go to the grocery store and bring home backs of cat food. Just like the mama cat who leaves the cubs in the dens to hunt – so do we hunt at the store and bring home the “kill.” Mama cats clean up behind the cubs when they urinate and deficate. So do we – when we clean up the litter box.
In 16 years, (and he is now the equivalent of an 80 year old human), I have noticed NO neurotic nonsense from Pippin. His personality is unique. He has problem-solving intelligence.He is a watch-cat. Any little noise outside our house – he is there to find out what is going on. He alerts us to when someone is at the door. He is shy around other humans. He loves John and me. He hung around our dog too much – he learned the slobbering ways of dogs of how to kiss us. He does not steal human food. He lets us know if we forget to give him fresh food and water. Or when his litter box needs cleaning.
He watches TV. He likes Animal Planet. He was watching a special on Tigers – and was enjoying himself, until the camera showed a closeup on the tigers big teeth. Pippin turned nervously around to look at me – to make sure Mama was there to protect him. Pippin likes to watch Star Wars and Godzilla. – Godzilla and his big teeth do not bother Pippin.
Pippin is a well-adjusted, well-loved cat, who loves his humans in turn. If he could adjust to his new name – with no long-lasting neurotic behavior, what the hell is the matter with Joan?

ps. oh yes – I, Pippin’s adoptive mother did a very bad thing. I neutered him at the age of 8 months. WITHOUT HIS CONSENT! Just as Joan circumsized her infant son WITHOUT HIS CONSENT. I think that both Pippin and Dennis adjusted quite nicely. Despite having their little wing-wangs meddled with.

Gert here…
right Ruth, that formatting is from that stupid forum…sometimes I just can’t get around it
anyway…

good gods and goddesses! I didn’t know about Pippin’s background! you have been keeping SECRETS from me! You have lied to me about Pippin’s sexual orientation! And that he had a SISTER….who died!! And where is his MOTHER? Where is/was his FATHER? And then you don’t even tell everyone on the internet about the gift that I sent Pippin…a small Godzilla and how he opened the envelope! You betrayed me by NOT telling the whole story…you have kept me in the dark for months, maybe for years, ever since I mailed him the toy! You probably told all the neighbors about how he played with the toy but didn’t mention that I gave it to him. You have kept in away from knowing about his life and family! But don’t worry, I’m a big girl and I can get over it, unlike Joan!

good gravy!
to get around the formatting, you must first copy and paste it to NOTEPAD. Notepad removes all formatting. You will have to add your own formatting, but it will be easier to work with. WordPress has stupid formatting also. When adding a graphic, you must add a line under it. When working in draft, and I know that I am going to add a graphic I add a line thenI type out the word spacer. Before I save final draft to publish, I make sure I have an extra line, sometimes marked with a period. This way, if we wish to add more text, we have the line to add it. Otherwise, all additional text will placed above the graphic, not below.

As to Pippin’s Godzilla toy and me not giving you credit, – will lad-de-dah – EXCUSE ME for being human. And no, I didn’t tell the neighbors about you mailing him the toy, but I did tell my co-workers – even showed them the pictures that are on my facebook! So there!

And it’s really none of your business on how I raise my cat. And if I get any cat-abuse calls I’ll know who made the calls.

This is true: years ago, Francine’s cousin got mad at her and placed a call to the child abuse authorities against her for abusing — Renaissaince, Morris and PeeWee – John answered the door and the CPS worker asked to see them. So John whistled and called them by name, and here comes three cats.

as to Pippin’s sexual orientation – he is quite well adjusted as a neuter. And I will not have him discriminated against because of his sexual orientation. That is a hate crime you know. And against his civil rights.
I did forget to say that Pippin is a New Age Neo-Pagan cat with affinities to the Ancient Kemetic (Egyptian) pantheon of dieties.. He works with crystals. When I do any kind of ritual or crystal work, he sets himself on the floor at the south-west corner of my altar. His patron goddesses Bastet and Sekhmet watch over him.
Pippin has the freedom to choose whatever religion he wants, and I firmly stand by his choice.
 
Gert here,

Are you serious? about the abuse calls over cats!! if that is so and you just told about on the blog, better watch out that a copy-CAT (JW)won’t do it! again!

So now…civil rights are extended to cats!! is that similar to having a civil right to a original birth certificate? Which by the way…does he have all his papers in order? Can he prove he is who you say he is? Hey, I don’t discriminate unless of course it is related to food and drink…I do prefer real cheese over processed cheese and better wine over cheap wine. As far as people and cats are concerned as long as they behave with respect and honor I have no problem with anything…but…as soon as they are disrespectful and dishonest..well…take a lesson here JW.

Thank you for putting up Pippin’s pictures and for telling us more about his esoteric abilities!!! I see that he has very good judgements according to the ancient wisdoms of the goddesses!!

Long live Pippin the Mighty, adoptee that he is!

7 Comments
  1. In August 1996, my husband brought home two kittens for me for my birthday. Two little sisters. I named them Isis and Athena. Isis was black and white, Athena was a striped tabby with a white belly. Athena grew while Isis remained tiny and then grew sickly. It turned out Isis had feline leukemia and had to be put down. Athena escaped the disease. But a month before I took Isis into the vet, I noticed Athena on top of Isis – humping away. And I noticed, Athena was developing strong shoulder muscles. I turned Athena over and saw that Athena was a male! I was so embarrased. I have had lots of kittys and have never confused their gender. Here at the age of six months, I discover that Athena was not a she, but a he!
    I couldn’t keep calling him a female name, so I changed his name to Pippin.
    At the age of six months, Athena/Pippin was about the age of a 12 year old human. Oh dear. I changed his name. It took a couple of weeks to learn his new name and respond to it. And oh dear, I took him away from his mama cat. Never mind that two days after John brought Isis and Athena/Pippin to our house, their mama and their remaining two siblings died. (we thought it was because of the deplorable conditions of their home – they were dirty and covered in fleas). So poor Athena/Pippin – she/he was the only survivor of his original family. And was not allowed to stay with his mama and die with her.
    This year, Pippin turns 16. He is an extraordinary cat. He is very intelligent, but silly. He was chasing his tail a few months ago, and caught it. And bit it. Then he hissed because he got bit. He then spat – he was angry at himself! For bitiing himself!
    Pippin adores me and John – his adoptive parents.
    We know he views us as his parents. When a baby kitten is nursing, they spread their little front paws out and the fingers spread out – they knead mama’s breast to express the milk. When a cat is content with their human, they will purr and do the same kneading motions. If they are sitting on your lap your knees might get all scratched up. They are not doing this to harm you – they are thinking back to when they were kittens and are now sitting on the laps of their “parents”
    We ARE their parents. We go to the grocery store and bring home backs of cat food. Just like the mama cat who leaves the cubs in the dens to hunt – so do we hunt at the store and bring home the “kill.” Mama cats clean up behind the cubs when they urinate and deficate. So do we – when we clean up the litter box.
    In 16 years, (and he is now the equivalent of an 80 year old human), I have noticed NO neurotic nonsense from Pippin. His personality is unique. He has problem-solving intelligence.He is a watch-cat. Any little noise outside our house – he is there to find out what is going on. He alerts us to when someone is at the door. He is shy around other humans. He loves John and me. He hung around our dog too much – he learned the slobbering ways of dogs of how to kiss us. He does not steal human food. He lets us know if we forget to give him fresh food and water. Or when his litter box needs cleaning.
    He watches TV. He likes Animal Planet. He was watching a special on Tigers – and was enjoying himself, until the camera showed a closeup on the tigers big teeth. Pippin turned nervously around to look at me – to make sure Mama was there to protect him. Pippin likes to watch Star Wars and Godzilla. – Godzilla and his big teeth do not bother Pippin.
    Pippin is a well-adjusted, well-loved cat, who loves his humans in turn. If he could adjust to his new name – with no long-lasting neurotic behavior, what the hell is the matter with Joan?

    ps. oh yes – I, Pippin’s adoptive mother did a very bad thing. I neutered him at the age of 8 months. WITHOUT HIS CONSENT! Just as Joan circumsized her infant son WITHOUT HIS CONSENT. I think that both Pippin and Dennis adjusted quite nicely. Despite having their little wing-wangs meddled with.

  2. Gert here…
    right Ruth, that formatting is from that stupid forum…sometimes I just can’t get around it
    anyway…

    good gods and goddesses! I didn’t know about Pippin’s background! you have been keeping SECRETS from me! You have lied to me about Pippin’s sexual orientation! And that he had a SISTER….who died!! And where is his MOTHER? Where is/was his FATHER? And then you don’t even tell everyone on the internet about the gift that I sent Pippin…a small Godzilla and how he opened the envelope! You betrayed me by NOT telling the whole story…you have kept me in the dark for months, maybe for years, ever since I mailed him the toy! You probably told all the neighbors about how he played with the toy but didn’t mention that I gave it to him. You have kept in away from knowing about his life and family! But don’t worry, I’m a big girl and I can get over it, unlike Joan!

  3. good gravy!
    to get around the formatting, you must first copy and paste it to NOTEPAD. Notepad removes all formatting. You will have to add your own formatting, but it will be easier to work with. WordPress has stupid formatting also. When adding a graphic, you must add a line under it. When working in draft, and I know that I am going to add a graphic I add a line thenI type out the word spacer. Before I save final draft to publish, I make sure I have an extra line, sometimes marked with a period. This way, if we wish to add more text, we have the line to add it. Otherwise, all additional text will placed above the graphic, not below.

    As to Pippin’s Godzilla toy and me not giving you credit, – will lad-de-dah – EXCUSE ME for being human. And no, I didn’t tell the neighbors about you mailing him the toy, but I did tell my co-workers – even showed them the pictures that are on my facebook! So there!

    And it’s really none of your business on how I raise my cat. And if I get any cat-abuse calls I’ll know who made the calls.

    This is true: years ago, Francine’s cousin got mad at her and placed a call to the child abuse authorities against her for abusing — Renaissaince, Morris and PeeWee – John answered the door and the CPS worker asked to see them. So John whistled and called them by name, and here comes three cats.

  4. as to Pippin’s sexual orientation – he is quite well adjusted as a neuter. And I will not have him discriminated against because of his sexual orientation. That is a hate crime you know. And against his civil rights.

    I did forget to say that Pippin is a New Age Neo-Pagan cat with affinities to the Ancient Kemetic (Egyptian) pantheon of dieties.. He works with crystals. When I do any kind of ritual or crystal work, he sets himself on the floor at the south-west corner of my altar. His patron goddesses Bastet and Sekhmet watch over him.

    Pippin has the freedom to choose whatever religion he wants, and I firmly stand by his choice.

  5. Gert here,

    Are you serious? about the abuse calls over cats!! if that is so and you just told about on the blog, better watch out that a copy-CAT (JW)won’t do it! again!

    So now…civil rights are extended to cats!! is that similar to having a civil right to a original birth certificate? Which by the way…does he have all his papers in order? Can he prove he is who you say he is? Hey, I don’t discriminate unless of course it is related to food and drink…I do prefer real cheese over processed cheese and better wine over cheap wine. As far as people and cats are concerned as long as they behave with respect and honor I have no problem with anything…but…as soon as they are disrespectful and dishonest..well…take a lesson here JW.

    Thank you for putting up Pippin’s pictures and for telling us more about his esoteric abilities!!! I see that he has very good judgements according to the ancient wisdoms of the goddesses!!

    Long live Pippin the Mighty, adoptee that he is!

  6. Reblogged this on Refuting a Book of Lies: Forbidden Family — and commented:

    another great post about adoptees not having a sense of humor

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Pippin the Mighty – a well adjusted, very happy adoptee, who is NOT in any sort of state of denial. « Reclaiming the Sippel-Herr Family Honor

Leave a Reply

