Skip to content

Bigotry at its best! Joan Wheeler, adoptee extraordinaire, has out done even HERSELF! with updated comments

by on April 28, 2013

She hates the family’s ethnic backgrounds so now she’s making up the family tree to FIT in with OTHER RACES! Both Gert and Ruth are speaking here.

see end of this post for an updates

Gert says

As outrageous as it sounds, yes, I do believe that she has lost her mind, the little of it that she has left…there isn’t a brain cell left in her head! This idiot really needs ATTENTION, doesn’t care about how many lies and tall-tales she has to tell only that she needs to get the attention. Well she just got some attention!

She’s just a suck up! She’s been sucking up, for a few years now, to a GUY, an adoptee, who lives somewhere in the mid-Eastern Mediterranean area, an adoptee from New Jersey. Forgive me if I don’t have the geography or other facts correct on him for you see I have NO issue with him or other adoptees. I ONLY have issues with Joan Wheeler and when Joan Wheeler MISREPRESENTS and LIES about my family!

Now, Joan Wheeler has been cultivating TRANSRACIAL ADOPTEES. There is NOTHING transracial in our family. Not only is Joan a family traitor she is a race traitor! Come on now…just because I do Taoist Tai-chi, does that MAKE me an oriental? or because I do yoga does that make me a Hindu? or I like Korean martial arts does that make me Korean? or I like to learn about other races past and present, does that make me NOT of the white race? I am PROUD of my ethnic heritage! Joan Wheeler is NOT! But she doesn’t have the right to make up our heritage because she is a suck-up!

I do have have these facts correct; Joan Wheeler is a liar and a bigot, she has and wants to crossed the racial lines and lines of family descency to ‘get attention’ from other adoptees and she doesn’t care about anything…just as long as she can get attention and have someone to play with. Where have all her other playmates gone? She doesn’t have any so she has gone over to other playgrounds looking for new friends and as usual she DOESN’T tell the new playmates the truth.

Ruth says…a little background before we get to the current news…

Joan Wheeler, aka legitimatebastard, posted a comment on a topic called ‘It’s a small world after all.’ On Transracialeyes November 30, 2012 at 11:56 pm

“Sometimes I wonder if I belong here, answering posts as a ‘white-on-white’ adoptee. While whiteness and Catholicism played big in my adoption, the way I was raised simply did not reflect all of my nationalities or ethnic backgrounds. I grew up, raised by an Italian mother and a Polish-English father. With my white skin, I fit right in.”

Joan continues: “It didn’t occur to me until after my reunion, when I was told my true mixed-mationalities of German, Polish, French, Scottish, and possibly Native American,…”

So, in November 2012, she says POSSIBLY Native American (doesn’t say POSITIVELY) and she does not mention Jewish. Now, all of a sudden, in April 2013, she adds “possibly Jewish.”

Again, she doesn’t say POSITIVELY, only POSSIBLY. Joan is the one who is always screaming for THE TRUTH in her adoption and birth certificate, by citing POSSIBLES, she is NOT speaking the truth. And we Herr family and Sippel family members know the truth – there is NO Native American nor Jewish in our ethnic or religous backgrounds.

In her book Forbidden Family, published November 2009 and pulled from publication May 2011 for gross slander, Joan gives the following facts of the ethnic/religous background of her birth family. From page 490:

(Natural mother): Ethnicity: Mother – German, Swiss, French, English; ancestors in America for 400 years. Father – German, Scottish, English, ancestors in America for 200 years. – which is not entirely accurate – my grandfather, Jacob Grant Herr was not Scottish – the Scottish came from his wife Gertrude Stoll, whose great grandmother was Eva MacQuiston. Get your facts straight Joan.

(Natural Father) Ethnicity – Mother – Polish. Father – German. They were children or grandchildren of immigrants. She says they were children OR grandchildren of immigrants – again, Joan, get your facts straight if you are going to be an “expert” on MY family and report on MY family. Were they children or grandchildren – faulty, incomplete research noted here.

So this was published in November 2009, and three years later, November 2012, Native American blood gets POSSIBLY mixed in my family’s ethnic heritage. Five months later, the Jewish religion gets added to my family’s religious heritage. What new ethnicity or religiousity will get added to MY family’s history the next time Joan Wheeler opens her mouth? Chinese? Korean? Shinto? Buddhism?

NOW, it was brought to our attention that Joan wrote a comment on http://transracialeyes.com/guest-registry/

And so I and Ruth wrote comments, which have not been published and probably NEVER will be published, which is of course their right NOT to publish. But we have a blog too!

The comments are plainly labeled as to whom said what…

Joan Wheeler (@forbiddenfamily) says: April 20, 2013 at 1:01 pm

Hi Daniel, I stop by occasionally, as I enjoy your writings. Being a white adoptee of mixed ethnic blends by both adoption and by natural family, I am only now contemplating what it means to seek out the rumors. Is there lost Native American blood in me? Is there lost Jewish blood in me? And what does it mean to a white woman who is, by adoption, English, Polish, Italian? What does it mean to find out that by blood, my ancestors were German, Polish, French, Scottish, possibly Native and possibly Jewish? For my “people” have been in America so long that our ethnic backgrounds have blended. Traditions passed down, many lost, languages definitely lost. But physically, what does it mean? Spiritually, what does it mean? I’m beginning a new phase in my journey. My voyage is not the same as those adoptees separated from parents and siblings and homeland, yet, I feel a sense of loss for my ancestors’ true stories. My separation was here in a already diverse city. At one time, in the 80s, we counted over 100 separate ethnic cultures living within our city, so it was a celebration to me to be a part of it all. Now, I wonder how my ancestors made this city and how they made this country, for many of my ancestors have  been here for 200 – 400 years. But the missing pieces make me think, there are stories I need to know. My Whiteness is just a cover. The ethnic groups blended in me had experienced life journeys. …Thanks for bringing these journeys, questions, and thoughts of adoption and culture to the top of discussions.

Daniel Ibn Zayd says: April 20, 2013 at 1:28 pm

Thank you for your comment, it is much appreciated. I still wonder what it might have meant if my adoptive father had, in any way, embraced instead of rejected his Irish heritage in favor for the dominant mode of the country. But we can also witness the violence that such communities in turn each faced in books like The American Language, which has an entire chapter devoted to the slang and epithets used to denigrate non-Anglos in the new country. It almost seems preposterous to think of “white” people this way. But I agree that we all have a lot of research to do on our own histories, and that this would give us much in the way of common ground if not common cause.

http://transracialeyes.com/guest-registry/

gertmcqueen says: Your comment is awaiting moderation.  April 26, 2013 at 11:49 pm

First I would like to say I have no wish nor desire for any conflict! If you choose NOT to publish this comment so be it, at least the admin has seen it and I shall make sure that it is posted on my blog! My reasons for commenting here are only to correct mis-statements and to AFFIRM my own heritage that seems to be misrepresented here, by a blood relative. When someone speaks of MY ethnic heritage I do feel that I must speak! I feel certain that any adoptee in a true ‘transracial’ adoption would UNDERSTAND my outrage of any untruth of ethnicity.

I clearly state, that I do NOT and don’t care to, know all about your positions and opinions about adoption; they are NOT the issue, here. The issue is purely; MY family’s ethnic hertiage that is being misrepresented by Joan Wheeler, adoptee.

Joan Wheeler @ForbiddenFamily said…My Whiteness is just a cover.

What the heck does that mean! Her WHITENESS…she’s ashamed of her WHITENESS! on a TRANSRACIAL SITE? Just whom is she sucking up to? My heritage and that of Joan Wheeler, are ONE and the SAME; we are BIRTH SIBLINGS. We come from pure German and Polish heritage! Her adoptive parents were mostly Italian. Her placement into adoption HAD NO interracial nor religious differences from her birthparents.

If you have not had the opportunity to read Joan’s book Forbidden Family, pulled from publication by the publisher, you would NOT know that she is BIGOT. She hates German and Polish people. She insulted OUR father, (HER BIRTH FATHER) for his ethnic and religious heritage, to his face in 2009, just before the book was to be published. Her reward; was to be kicked out physically, emotionally and legally…AFTER being in reunion for over 30 years! Then she wrote lies about it in a book! Enough already!

How would ANY OF YOU feel if YOUR ETHNIC hertiage was misrepresented as MINE IS? and make no mistake here…anyone CAN have an affinity to ANY ethnic race or religion, but that affinity DOES NOT mean a true racial identity. Any misrepresentation, by Joan Wheeler, of any mixed race in our BLOOD LINE is a falsehood and should be STOPPED…immediately! Joan Wheeler was NOT ADOPTED in any way form or matter in a TRANSRACIAL ADOPTION. And we the BIRTH FAMILY resent this outward BIGOTRY by her! Please sanction this adoptee! She is NOT helping your positions.

Ruth’s comment; of course, awaiting moderation, probably won’t get up, but the point will have been made, and of course we put it on our blog:

My father’s (and Joan Wheeler’s) blood grandparents – mother – Wisneiwski FROM POLAND – Catholic, not Jewish. father – Sippel – FROM GERMANY – Catholic, not Jewish.

Mother – surname Herr – FROM GERMANY – Christian, not Jewish.– we do have Scottish in the Herr family – MacQuiston.- Christian, not Jewish

The Herrs came from GERMANY and settled in Pennsylvania. They were Mennonites, Christian. Some of them started west in covered wagons mid 1800’s – got as far as Ohio. Some turned back to return to Pennslysvania. But stayed in Western New York. somewhere along the way they changed from Mennonite to Catholicism. NO JEWISH (religion) OR SEMETIC (Arab, Hebrew race)

Jacob Grant Herr – our grandfather – son of pure German Herr forefathers. NO NATIVE AMERICAN in his line. Gertrude Stoll – descendent of MacQuiston – pure Scottish – NO NATIVE AMERICAN.

By the mid-to late 1800’s – very few Native Americans were around the small town of Forks, New York, which later got absorbed into Cheektowaga, NY, a suburb of Buffalo New York. Where they lived is only 4 miles from I currently live, and my grandfather’s house where he raised my mother is in walking distance from where I currently live. In a mostly German section of Buffalo (until the late 1970’s) now, it is mixed African-American and Caucasian.

Joan grew up with a romanticized fantasy of Native Americans, had a full dress and mocassins, even studied Native American dances, she belonged to a Native American dance troup. This does not make her a Native American any more than my marrying a man from Yemen (1975-1985) and becoming a Middle East dancer (belly dance and North Africa folk dancing) makes me an Arab or Muslima.

Joan’s adopted father was German, her adoptive mother was Italian. But she was not brought up speaking Italian – Joan was raised in a purely American way – as I was – in the melting pot of modern America.

As a transracial adoptee searching for and rediscovering his Lebanese roots, I’m sure Daniel will appreciate the need for accuracy in an adoptees (indeed ANYone’s) ethnic and religious roots.

end

gertmcqueen permalink April 30
Gert here…while I was looking for something difference, in Joan’s book, I came across the following…from her book,

Joan’s own words…page 487…. ‘AUTHOR/SELF…ETHNICITY…
German, Polish, Swiss, French, Scottish, English; mother’s ancestors have been in America for 400 years; father’s grandparents immigrated to America in mid 1800′s.’

She DOES NOT mention any American Indian or Jewish ethnicity. The above quote was from chapter 38 which was written, as it states on page 482, April – July 2009

Clearly, Joan Wheeler knows NOT what she speaks or writes and her stories change at whim.

Ruth

Oh, but Gert – remember it was just thrown in my face that Joan can tell her story any way she sees fit. And if that means changing the facts around to suit her, or tell her story a different way every time she tells it, then, that’s ok too by the idiot who said that.  And make no mistake, anybody who thinks that a “truthful” story can be told 10 different ways, isn’t playing a full deck. MY story, doesn’t change from day to day, because I tell the truth. AND I have provided irrefutable proof of it – via actual court documents and even Joan’s own handwritten letters. For being the son of a prominent lawyer not to know this shows me what a koo-koo he is! Little pests like that need to go back and play in the sandbox.

UPDATE, FEBRUARY 2016, as older posts are being seen I’m updating with links to my second blog and a Facebook page wherein I expose AGAIN the lies, fabrications and hate that Joan M Wheeler says about me and family. After the first book was pulled from publication by the publisher, May 2011, she has ‘self-published’ another ‘revised’ version. In this ‘version’ called ‘duped by adoption’ she has increased her exploitation by including PICTURES and REAL NAMES and much more personal information violating again the families. Joan has no decency NOR shame. There is NOTHING in this book for adoption reform. She is totally against adoption and her two families. To learn more see…

https://gertmcqueen2.wordpress.com/

https://www.facebook.com/dupedbyadoption1

UPDATE JULY 2017; I’m updating with links to my second blog and a Facebook page wherein I expose AGAIN the lies, fabrications and hate that Joan M Wheeler (Doris Michol Sippel) says about me and family. The first book Forbidden Family, A Half Orphan’s Account of Her Adoption, Reunion and Social Activism‘ was published in 2009 but then was pulled from publication by the publisher in May 2011, for libelous material within the book. Then in 2015, she ‘self-published’ a ‘revised’ version calling it ‘Forbidden Family, an adoptee duped by adoption’. This woman has no shame no sense of family honor! Then in 2016 Joan changed her name back to her birth name and rewrote and republished the SAME crap in another book; a Third edition! CALLED ‘Forbidden Family: An Adopted Woman’s Struggle for Identity’! Talk about conning people!

https://gertmcqueen.wordpress.com/   this blog is titled Reclaiming the Sippel-Herr Family Honor

https://gertmcqueen2.wordpress.com/

this blog’s title/sub title is… DUPED BY ADOPTION & AN WOMAN’S STRUGGLE FOR IDENTITY, A BOOK STUDY an in-depth analyzes of the books called Forbidden Family; My Life as an Adoptee Duped by adoption & An Adopted Woman’s Struggle for Identity by Joan M Wheeler/Doris M Sippel.

Also see this Facebook page

https://www.facebook.com/dupedbyadoptionStruggleforIdentity1/

In addition…see the ‘discussion’ forums, on Amazon, for two of the books. The first book has one review and several comments related.

Forbidden Family: My Life as an Adoptee Duped by Adoption forum

https://www.amazon.com/Forbidden-Family-Adoptee-Duped-Adoption/forum/Fx16ZHWP5PQHHCK/-/1/ref=cm_cd_fp_rvt?_encoding=UTF8&asin=B00X520CGW

Joan Mary Wheeler forum 

https://www.amazon.com/gp/forum/cd/forum.html/ref=cm_cd_rvt?ie=UTF8&cdForum=Fx3T0YAD0KXNPP5

review of first book and 4 comments

https://www.amazon.com/Forbidden-Family-Joan-M-Wheeler/dp/1412061547

end

 

5 Comments
  1. Reblogged this on Refuting a Book of Lies: Forbidden Family — and commented:

    Joan Wheeler is a liar to her OWN HERITAGE…

  2. Gert here…while I was looking for something difference, in Joan’s book, I came across the following…from her book, Joan’s own words…page 487…. ‘AUTHOR/SELF…ETHNICITY…
    German, Polish, Swiss, French, Scottish, English; mother’s ancestors have been in America for 400 years; father’s grandparents immigrated to America in mid 1800’s.’

    She DOES NOT mention any American Indian or Jewish ethnicity. The above quote was from chapter 38 which was written, as it states on page 482, April – July 2009

    Clearly, Joan Wheeler knows NOT what she speaks or writes and her stories change at whim.

  3. Oh, but Gert – remember it was just thrown in my face that Joan can tell her story any way she sees fit. And if that means changing the facts around to suit her, or tell her story a different way every time she tells it, then, that’s ok too by the idiot who said that. And make no mistake, anybody who thinks that a “truthful” story can be told 10 different ways, isn’t playing a full deck.
    MY story, doesn’t change from day to day, because I tell the truth. AND I have provided irrefutable proof of it – via actual court documents and even Joan’s own handwritten letters. For being the son of a prominent lawyer not to know this shows me what a koo-koo he is! Little pests like that need to go back and play in the sandbox.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Joan Wheeler keeps playing fast and loose with the facts and her little buddy thinks that’s just fine. | Refuting a Book of Lies: Forbidden Family --
  2. Joan Wheeler is a emotional vampire feeding off of other adoptees, the NPR racial controversy and not bringing anything to the table! | Reclaiming the Sippel-Herr Family Honor

Leave a Reply

