Skip to content

Have your heard the ‘Joni & Rich’ story by #JoanWheeler? No? well then read on…

by on July 1, 2014

Joan tells so many versions of her life and leaves out so many great things; no wonder that she can’t seem to tell the definitive TRUTH, of anything, let alone tell it consistency!

Did she REALLY write the book for adoption REFORM as she PROMOTES that she did? NO, she wrote a book full of lies for revenge and retaliation as well as for fame and fortune! WE now present ADDITIONAL PROOF. I realize that this post may be long, but please, stay with me, for all will be revealed!

From the ‘nonfiction’ status, and supposed truthful account within its pages, Forbidden Family, has one account of the truth which doesn’t match other sources of the same truth, as told by Joan Wheeler, herself. Confused? Join the club! Everything Joan Wheeler writes is part of her fragmented and distorted mind as well as her viewpoints along with whatever mental state she may be in at any given moment. In real life and in print, Joan routinely mixes up people, times and places; that’s why it is so confusing, even to her!

Currently, 2014, she is rewriting the condemned book, as it was proven to be libelous and was pulled from publication. So expect an entirely DIFFERENT set of TRUTHS with any other book from her! Whenever she finally finishes it, as she is NOW limited to really self-publishing it, where will she get the monies to get it printed? And marketed, and shipped?

I NOW INTERRUPT THIS POST FOR AN UPDATE APRIL 2016;

as older posts are being seen I’m updating with links to my second blog and a Facebook page wherein I expose AGAIN the lies, fabrications and hate that Joan M Wheeler says about me and family. After the first book was pulled from publication by the publisher, May 2011, she has ‘self-published’ another ‘revised’ version. This woman has no shame no sense of family honor!

https://gertmcqueen2.wordpress.com/

https://www.facebook.com/dupedbyadoption1

and now back to this post 

Recently, June 2014, an old flame/collaborator, YES COLLABORATOR, of Joan’s, had an article published on Yahoo. Joan lost no time in broadcasting that she KNOWS the guy! She likes to name-drop! But I really wonder if those that she name-drops really want the attention she puts on them! As it turns out, Ruth and I had the ‘skinny’ on the ‘relationship’ between Joan and the old flame/collaborator several years ago…we have been sitting on it! So I guess, since Joan herself brought it out in the open, it must be okay for us to present what we have always known!

First the link to the article written by Richard Weizel…(Joan’s collaborator/former lover)…then a couple of Facebook comments of Joan’s (that I was shown).

https://news.yahoo.com/am-u-adoptees-finally-winning-birth-certificate-rights-135215659.html

Joan M Wheeler Hey M, this article was written by an ex-boyfriend of mine! yeah Rich Richard Weizel! Congratualtions for another well-written article! Proud of you! June 21 at 11:59am

Joan M Wheeler Nice to see my cousin, M, a daughter of my (natural blood) cousin, who is also a adoptee-lite, and my good old friend, Richard Weizel, an adoptee, here on Facebook! Love to both of you. June 21 at 2:17pm ·

On June24 from another thread

Joan M Wheeler Glad to help out! 38 years ago, I began writing about my life in journals, diaries. I just wrote because I had the urge to organize my thoughts. Much was not appropriate for a book, but other bits became a book. Soon to be published in a revised edition! A — with Northside Writers’ help, your writings will not take as long to shape up!

Gert here…let’s take the last comment first…the statement is so very interesting!! Here Joan admits that ‘much’ of what she wrote, in her diaries, was ‘not appropriate for a book but other bits became a book’. That book, Forbidden Family, had 640 pages, and only about 80 pages were of any TRUE adoption reform materials! Joan continues to call, what she is working on, a second revised edition, which is false. What she is working on is a different book! And, she and ANYONE that helps her with publishing this DIFFERENT book will be SUED for libel IF SHE HAS MORE LIES about us! Furthermore, as our presentation of NEW evidence shows, Joan has had the PLAN to exploit both birth and adoptive families, for fame and fortune.

Now turning attention to the old flame…one of many I may add…

Richard Weizel’s name does appear in the acknowledgements, page ix, of the libelous book Forbidden Family. Outside of that, there is no other mention of him or the IMPORTANCE that he played in Joan’s life and the EXPLOITATION of the birth and adoptive families…for fame and fortune! The last evidence I present, at the end of this post, will be the VARIOUS titles of Joan’s work in progress and her and Richard Weizel’s grand design! So please stay with me!

But first…from Joan’s notes…from an early draft.

Time Frame: 1980 – 1981. Synopsis: Death of John Lennon, Joan and Hal meet in Virginia Beach, Joan meets Richard Weizel. They try to write a joint book, docu-drama. It falls through, they argue and break up. She meets him again in 1991.

From the pages of Forbidden Family is found only this…

During this time period, Dec 1980, she gets a phone call from a high school boyfriend, Hal, living in Virginia who recently got divorced and wanted to see her; she relates this on page 196. On page 198, she relates ‘…spent a wonderful week together…problems we didn’t anticipate…he wanted me to move to Virginia Beach…I wanted to live where I could maintain relationships with both sets of parents…we said goodbye.’

She marries in 1983 and has children. On page 292, (it’s 1990) she and husband are having marriage problems. Joan doesn’t even mention the year 1991, like that year never happened! Hummm!! On page 295 we are now in 1992! So what happened in 1991? And no mention of the guy with whom she was writing a docu-drama with!

So what is a DOCU-DRAMA? …basically, a book and a movie! To fully understand and appreciate this…it is really necessary to present Joan’s own words; words that didn’t make it into Forbidden Family but words that she would have used if she still HAD Richard Weizel in her life. By presenting the following, narrative of Joan’s, I give readers a very good look at her writing style and mind-set. People have NOT had any opportunity to really know what she published as the book was pulled from publication.

…so here is Joan (within the brackets ^^^^^)…

^^^^

Hal and I spent a wonderful week together. While in Virginia Beach, however, we experienced problems neither of us anticipated. Hal expected me to give up my life in Buffalo and move down to Virginia Beach to live with him. I wasn’t ready to that so Hal sent me home on a quickly arranged flight.

Three weeks later, shortly after New Year’s, 1981, however, Hal called again. He asked me to drive down to Virginia Beach. We had thought it over and both wanted to make it work. Since I had been laid off in late November, there really wasn’t any commitment here in Buffalo.

I drove down to Virginia Beach, woke Hal up from a sound sleep when I knocked on his door at 1am. For a week or so, we were happy. Until the day I suggested the Association for Research and Enlightenment.

The A.R.E. was a spiritual center dedicated to the readings of Edgar Cayce. I was drawn to the spiritual, metaphysical aspects of life; Hal thought they were unimportant. But he agreed to take me there anyway.

Hal stayed in the bookstore, while I attended a lecture on reincarnation. I chose a seat directly in front of the lecturer. The entire room was empty so I was a bit startled and annoyed when a man came in and sat in the chair at my right. When our eyes met, an intuitive flash told me he was adopted, but I quickly dismissed such a ridiculous thought. There was no reason to believe this stranger was adopted, other than to meet my needs of wanting to relate to a man who would understand and identify with me.

The lecturer began with short introductions. When the man to my right said he was a free-lance writer from New York City, my head jerked up. I wanted to tell him that I was writing my autobiography, but decided not to.

With the opening of the question and answer period, I listened intently to the topic being discussed. We were addressing free will and choice, and how it relates to reincarnation. Everything else about reincarnation made sense to me, but this was a hard concept for me to grasp. The idea that the soul chooses its physical life prior to entering the material world (Footnotes #4) was a theory that I couldn’t understand. Knowing the confusion I’d lived with all my life, I doubted that I was responsible for it, so I asked the lecturer, “Why would my soul chose to be born of one mother, only to be adopted and raised by another?”

Before the woman could answer, the writer turned to me, his eyes bursting open with excitement.

“You’re adopted?” he asked. No sooner did I nod my head that he answered excitedly, “So am I!”

“I knew it. I knew it!” I shouted. “I knew you were adopted as soon as you walked in here.” My heart was racing. This just couldn’t be happening.

“As a matter of fact, I’m even writing my autobiography,” he said as his large, brown eyes sparkled.

“So am I!” I said. “And you know, after you said you were a writer I decided I was going to ask you to help me write my book.”

It took several minutes for us to regain our composure. Bt this time, the lecturer was completely confused and she didn’t quite know how to wrap up the hour. She finally concluded with a statement reinforcing her belief that souls chose to be adopted in this life to learn and grow.

I turned to the writer and we feverishly began comparing each other’s stories. Almost in unison, we laughed. I wondered if I might be dreaming. The thought occurred to me, but before I could utter a word, the writer was suggesting that we combine our stories into one long book.

We walked out of the lecture hall, exchanged addresses and phone numbers of where we stayed in Virginia Beach, and went off to find our respective partners.

Reunited once again with Hal, I told him of this chance meeting and how excited I was to find a writer to help me write my book. Hal’s disinterest disappointed me. My adoption story was very important to me and it became clear that he couldn’t understand how important this really was to me. Before we could mend the hurt and make concrete decisions about our lives together or apart, my car blew a rod in the engine. We were on a day trip to Richmond and had to leave my car there while Hal’s friends drove two hours to pick us up.

I was stranded in Virginia Beach with very little money, no car, and a wounded heart. My parents did not know I left Buffalo to be with Hal, and even though my birthfather knew, I could not call him for help. My only other option for a ride anywhere was to call the writer I’d met at the A. R. E. center. Rich was delighted to help out. He picked me up at Hal’s apartment the next day. I said good-bye to Hal in an awkward, choking voice. We hugged one last time and loaded my suitcase in Rich’s car. I knew this would be the last time I’d ever see Hal.

The ride to Queens was pleasant as Rich and I and his friend, Mark, got to know each other. Though worried for my safety, I tried not to think of the dangerous situation I put myself in. The men seemed safe, but this is something I would definitely not do today. Yes, the Spirits were certainly guiding me and protecting me.

In Queens, I stayed with Rich in his apartment. We decided to have me meet his parents before I called mine to arrange for a Western Union money-gram. My parents, of course, thought I was crazy, and at that time, I certainly was crazy. I felt out of control, led by forces I didn’t understand. My parents sent me enough money to get home.

Thus began a six month relationship with the writer from New York City. We were both unemployed at the time, so we traveled back and forth from Buffalo to Queens, staying at a time in our respective homes. As we grew in our love for each other, our knowledge of uncanny coincidences shared between us also grew. It seemed we could not deny that something unusual was happening to us. Our friends were baffled and curious and both of us were involved with meditation groups who stressed that our meeting was a very meaningful one. We had a purpose, we were to accomplish something important together.

The news of our deep synchronistic (Footnotes #5) links soon attracted a Buffalo businessman and his staff. The Institute of Fundamental Holistic Research took us on as clients. Plans were made to turn the story of Rich and Joan into one dynamic book. When publishers turned us down, we were discouraged. However, a Toronto television studio offered a multi-million dollar contract for a docu-drama that would focus on two adoptee’s chance meeting and love story.

As the contracts were being drawn up, I called my lawyer. He advised me to withdraw from the project because my story had not yet been written and the little that had been written was not protected by copyright. He told me that such a docu-drama would focus on all the sensational metaphysical synchronicities and the adoption issues we both wanted to convey would be lost. This, in conjunction with competitive feelings between Rich and I, contributed to our increased dissatisfaction with each other.

Even our views on adoption began to change. I had insisted, as I had done since the very beginning of my reunion, that every adoptee has two sets of parents. On the other hand, Rich believed that his adoptive parents were his only set of parents. He came to this conclusion because he could not find his birthmother. This caused a big rift between us. I was shattered by Rich’s beliefs and tried to get him to see that he has another set of parents out there, whether he finds them or not. We argued bitterly over this issue, and soon our love began to fade.

Rich’s success in finding employment in another city further provoked feelings of inadequacy and rage within me. Though he asked me to join him, I could not leave my home in Buffalo. My roots were there, my life was there. Just because he wasn’t rooted I saw no reason for me to lose my own. In a violent display of insecurity, rage and frustration, I ended our relationship forever.

The sensational love story and the docu-drama were over. I secluded myself in my apartment for a month before I could face the outside world again.

The years went by and I often thought of Rich and what became of him. Then, a little over ten years after our break-up, the name of Richard Weizel popped out at me as I read a newsletter from the Regional Director of The American Adoption Congress. Rich had written two articles in Parenting Magazine about his reunion with his birthparents! I was elated for him and rushed to the library to find the back issues of Parenting Magazine.

The first thing I saw was the artist’s rendition of Rich’s face in painted pictures. He look the same as I remembered him. I quickly scanned the story. Rich’s writing had improved and the story lines included the humor I fell in love with so long ago. The message was clear: he finally accepted his dual parentage.

Overjoyed at his success and relieved that his articles supported the Reform Movement’s purpose, I risked a phone call to locate him. We talked briefly on the phone and agreed to meet at the upcoming AAC Conference in March 1992 in Philadelphia. When we met again, we exchanged apologies and explanations. We also saw each other as the adoption professionals we had both grown into. Evolution took the right course for us. We each had to live our lives and draw our own conclusions. We each realized, finally, the meaning of our meeting in the lecture on reincarnation in Virginia Beach.

^^^^^^

Gert here again, NOW, the following evidence came to me via a google search, where I no longer recall just want I was looking for or at. All I knew was that I HAD SOMETHING and kept it! It appears to be some kind of copyright registration. It does show us just how LONG Joan was working on her book of revenge and with whom!

She had written an article called ‘The Secret is Out’ that included our real names. For the most part none of us in the birth family were particularly concerned about that article, but did voice strong objections to our names being published. In particular, Kathy wrote a letter of complaint and was later vilified and harassed by Prof. Rene Hoksbergen. Those events were misrepresented, exaggerated and falsified by Joan in the libelous book Forbidden Family.

A Comparative study of the anxiety, burnout, and mood of three …

www.faqs.org/…/a-comparative-study-of-the-anxiety-burnout-and-m...

The Secret is out / by Joan Wheelerborn Doris Sippel. Basis of Claim: New Matter: updating & additions. Previous Registration: Prev. reg. as Dual identity: ..

Dual identity

Type of Work:

Non-dramatic literary work

Registration Number / Date:

TXu000080711 / 1981-10-19

Date of Creation:

1981

Title:

Dual identity : secret lies, secret truth / by Joan Wheeler [i.e. Joan Mary Wheeler]

Description:

1 v.

Variant title:

Dual identity : secret lies, secret truth

Copyright Claimant:

Joan Wheeler

Names:

Joan Mary Wheeler 1956-

 

Dual identity

Type of Work:

Non-dramatic literary work

Registration Number / Date:

TXu000082334 / 1981-10-26

Date of Creation:

1981

Title:

Dual identity : synopsis / by Richard Weizel and Joni Wheeler [i.e. Joan Wheeler]

Application Title:

Dual identity: secret lies, secret truth.

Copyright Note:

C.O. correspondence.

Description:

12 p.

Variant title:

Dual identity : synopsis

Other Title:

Dual identity: secret lies, secret truth

Copyright Claimant:

Joan Wheeler & Richard Weizel

Names:

Joan Wheeler 1956-
Richard Weizel 1955-
Joni Wheeler

 

The Secret is out

Type of Work:

Non-dramatic literary work

Registration Number / Date:

TXu000421015 / 1990-06-07

Date of Creation:

1987

Title:

The Secret is out / by Joan Wheeler, born Doris Sippel.

Basis of Claim:

New Matter: updating & additions.

Previous Registration:

Prev. reg. as Dual identity: secret lies, secret truth, 1981, TXu 80-711.

Description:

1 v.

Other Title:

Dual identity: secret lies, secret truth

Copyright Claimant:

Joan Wheeler, born Doris Sippel

Names:

Joan Wheeler 1956-
Doris Sippel

 

A Proposal for forbidden family

Type of Work:

Non-dramatic literary work

Registration Number / Date:

TXu000435527 / 1990-09-13

Date of Creation:

1990

Title:

A Proposal for forbidden family / by Joan Wheeler.

Application Title:

The Secret is out; Dual identity: secret lies, secret truth.

Basis of Claim:

New Matter: additions.

Previous Registration:

Prev. reg. as The Secret is out, 1990, TXu 421-015 & Dual identity: secret lies secret truth, 1981, TXu 80-711.

Description:

sheets in box.

Other Title:

The Secret is out
Dual identity: secret lies, secret truth

Copyright Claimant:

Joan Wheeler, born Doris Sippel

Names:

Joan Wheeler 1956-
Doris Sippel

 

Research survey on found adoptees

Type of Work:

Non-dramatic literary work

Registration Number / Date:

TXu000435764 / 1990-09-11

Date of Creation:

1990

Title:

Research survey on found adoptees.

Copyright Claimant:

Joan M. Wheeler, born Doris M. Sippel

Authorship on Application:

Joan Mary Wheeler, born Doris Michol Sippel.

Names:

Joan Mary Wheeler 1956-
Doris Michol Sippel

 

End…
    

  1. Ruth July 1, 2014

    and guess what folks? Joan has played fast and loose with the FACTS again – she did NOT meet Rich in 1981 – but in late 1979 or early 1980 – how do I know this? BECAUSE SHE BROUGHT HIM TO MY APARTMENT!
    And Joan, ever trying to FIND problems or CREATE problems, actually asked me if there would be a problem when my then (common law) husband returned from Yemen seeing as he was ARAB and Rich was JEWISH.
    In late August 1979 – my common-law husband, Abdo left to go visit his native country of Yemen. He returned to Buffalo – July 5, 1980.
    I clearly remember this Rich in my apartment when it was cold and there was still snow on the ground. And I was in the process of sewing my first belly-dance costume. Which I began taking my very first belly dance lessons in February or March 1980. My teacher was Sherry, from Alden NY.
    I know for a fact that I took those lessons WHILE ABDO WAS IN YEMEN so I could surprise him when he came back. The lessons were part of a continuing adult education program thru Buffalo State College on Elmwood Ave, Buffalo, NY, but the back of the campus was on Grant St, and I lived on the corner of Amherst St. and Military Rd. – only one block away from Grant St, and the back of the campus on Grant St. was only about 3 blocks from Amherst St.
    I know for a fact that Abdo came home July 5, 1980 – because he came home the day after the fourth of July AND a couple of months later, we attended the wedding of my cousin Gail, in 1980 – and she and her husband Kevin was so happy to see Abdo again after his long stay away from Buffalo.
    Explain please Joan, and then you can take your “good advice” to Anthony about your journals and shove it – cos clearly either your journals were in error – OR YOU YOURSELF ARE IN ERROR OR YOU ARE SIMPLY LYING AGAIN. – I put my money on the last choice – because I have been able to PROVE with court documents – THAT JOAN WHEELER IS A DAMN LIAR.

 

Gert here…AND…in 1980 I remarried and started the ADOPTION of my children with 2nd husband. AND Joan had began her browbeating me about the EVILS of adoption and she began to alienate my children from me. Busy little beaver Joan was!

Paula permalink

  1. I loved the part that she states: “The sensational love story and the docu-drama were over. I secluded myself in my apartment for a month before I could face the outside world again.” At least she recognizes that she is “sensational” and to think it only took her a single month to come out of hiding. Wow. It’s been 35 years!! She needs to move on with her life. Otherwise, she’s going to be reincarnated with the same lessons to learn, which she should have learned in THIS lifetime. Stubborn soul! It IS her fault.

  2. Paula, your observations are quite right! Thing is she doesn’t want to let go of it, she can’t, for to do so would mean that she would have to ‘learn’ the lessons that THIS life is presenting to her! Every episode in her life, every thing, is over-wrought with her sensationalizing and drama and then each episode is followed with hiding away…she is bipolar! All the more reason why she ought to let it all go, for she works herself up only to have the let downs. And while this particular episode was 35 years ago…she is STILL doing the same thing, over and over and over again…because she believes that she is on this earth to save the world from adoption! She believes that her ‘life’ is an example of what adoption does to people. And so it goes…

4 Comments
  1. and guess what folks? Joan has played fast and loose with the FACTS again – she did NOT meet Rich in 1981 – but in late 1979 or early 1980 – how do I know this? BECAUSE SHE BROUGHT HIM TO MY APARTMENT!
    And Joan, ever trying to FIND problems or CREATE problems, actually asked me if there would be a problem when my then (common law) husband returned from Yemen seeing as he was ARAB and Rich was JEWISH.
    In late August 1979 – my common-law husband, Abdo left to go visit his native country of Yemen. He returned to Buffalo – July 5, 1980.
    I clearly remember this Rich in my apartment when it was cold and there was still snow on the ground. And I was in the process of sewing my first belly-dance costume. Which I began taking my very first belly dance lessons in February or March 1980. My teacher was Sherry, from Alden NY.
    I know for a fact that I took those lessons WHILE ABDO WAS IN YEMEN so I could surprise him when he came back. The lessons were part of a continuing adult education program thru Buffalo State College on Elmwood Ave, Buffalo, NY, but the back of the campus was on Grant St, and I lived on the corner of Amherst St. and Military Rd. – only one block away from Grant St, and the back of the campus on Grant St. was only about 3 blocks from Amherst St.
    I know for a fact that Abdo came home July 5, 1980 – because he came home the day after the fourth of July AND a couple of months later, we attended the wedding of my cousin Gail, in 1980 – and she and her husband Kevin was so happy to see Abdo again after his long stay away from Buffalo.
    Explain please Joan, and then you can take your “good advice” to Anthony about your journals and shove it – cos clearly either your journals were in error – OR YOU YOURSELF ARE IN ERROR OR YOU ARE SIMPLY LYING AGAIN. – I put my money on the last choice – because I have been able to PROVE with court documents – THAT JOAN WHEELER IS A DAMN LIAR.

  2. Gert here…AND…in 1980 I remarried and started the ADOPTION of my children with 2nd husband. AND Joan had began her browbeating me about the EVILS of adoption and she began to alienate my children from me. Busy little beaver Joan was!

  3. I loved the part that she states: “The sensational love story and the docu-drama were over. I secluded myself in my apartment for a month before I could face the outside world again.” At least she recognizes that she is “sensational” and to think it only took her a single month to come out of hiding. Wow. It’s been 35 years!! She needs to move on with her life. Otherwise, she’s going to be reincarnated with the same lessons to learn, which she should have learned in THIS lifetime. Stubborn soul! It IS her fault.

  4. Paula, your observations are quite right! Thing is she doesn’t want to let go of it, she can’t, for to do so would mean that she would have to ‘learn’ the lessons that THIS life is presenting to her! Every episode in her life, every thing, is over-wrought with her sensationalizing and drama and then each episode is followed with hiding away…she is bipolar! All the more reason why she ought to let it all go, for she works herself up only to have the let downs. And while this particular episode was 35 years ago…she is STILL doing the same thing, over and over and over again…because she believes that she is on this earth to save the world from adoption! She believes that her ‘life’ is an example of what adoption does to people. And so it goes…

Leave a Reply

