Skip to content

Caring for the elderly; another topic by expert Joan M Wheeler/Doris M Sippel on #adoption (6 of 6)

by on June 9, 2017

Here is the last in a series of rants by Joan/Doris to poor ‘John’. Does this woman have any other life? Apparently not for, as noted, these rants were before her great non-book, Forbidden Family, was published. During all of 2009 she was ‘rewriting and rewriting’ finally having the book appear in November 2009. The book was pulled from publication by the publisher in May of 2011 after their lawyers deemed that she violated the contract; the book contained libel and other nasty stuff.

Here are the links to the previous posts…

https://gertmcqueen.wordpress.com/2017/02/01/browbeating-and-insults-abound-as-joan-m-wheelerdoris-m-sippel-is-unable-to-control-herself-1-of-6/

https://gertmcqueen.wordpress.com/2017/02/23/dangerous-combination-for-adoptees-when-joan-m-wheelerdoris-m-sippel-believes-her-own-bs-as-she-slanderslibels-others-2-of-6/

https://gertmcqueen.wordpress.com/2017/03/04/dont-take-that-bone-of-contention-away-from-mad-dog-joan-m-wheelerdoris-m-sippel-3-of-6/

https://gertmcqueen.wordpress.com/2017/04/02/joan-m-wheelerdoris-m-sippel-tells-us-why-she-became-hateful-about-adoption-4-of-6/

https://gertmcqueen.wordpress.com/2017/05/27/devastating-effects-thats-what-joanmwheelerdorismsippel-tells-john-in-todays-adoption-lesson-5-of-6/

BUT before we go any further I want to share

I’m updating with links to my second blog and a Facebook page wherein I expose AGAIN the lies, fabrications and hate that Joan M Wheeler (Doris Michol Sippel) says about me and family. The first book Forbidden Family, A Half Orphan’s Account of Her Adoption, Reunion and Social Activism‘ was published in 2009 but then was pulled from publication by the publisher in May 2011, for libelous material within the book. Then in 2015, she ‘self-published’ a ‘revised’ version calling it ‘Forbidden Family, an adoptee duped by adoption’. This woman has no shame no sense of family honor! Then in 2016 Joan changed her name back to her birth name and rewrote and republished the SAME crap in another book; a Third edition! CALLED ‘Forbidden Family: An Adopted Woman’s Struggle for Identity’! Talk about conning people!

https://gertmcqueen.wordpress.com/   this blog is titled Reclaiming the Sippel-Herr Family Honor

https://gertmcqueen2.wordpress.com/

this blog’s title/sub title is… DUPED BY ADOPTION & AN WOMAN’S STRUGGLE FOR IDENTITY, A BOOK STUDY an in-depth analyzes of the books called Forbidden Family; My Life as an Adoptee Duped by adoption & An Adopted Woman’s Struggle for Identity by Joan M Wheeler/Doris M Sippel.

also see this Facebook page…

https://www.facebook.com/dupedbyadoptionStruggleforIdentity1/

do check us out and now to continue…

So to answer my own question…NO Joan has no other life except to argue and hate all things adoption.

The following comes from a blot post that UNFORTUNATELY is no longer available to view!  http://ouradopt.com/adoption-blog/jan-2009/lisas/ready-set-sign

Submitted by half-orphan on Tue, 01/06/2009 – 15:49.

Joan said…John, you must realize that my adoptive parents were the only parents I conciously knew for the first 18 years of my life. The first five years were untold of adoption. Somewhere between 5, 7, 9 or ten, I was told three different stories of why I was adopted. And yes, it was a shock to hear that another woman gave birth to me. The disclosure was done in a cold way, not at all in a loving way. I was left alone to think about it. It left me feeling sad and alone.

Gert comments…Hate to break it to you, Joan, or anyone else, you are NOT the only person who was ever ‘left in the dark’ about your life’s origins or any other of life’s many mysteries. For example, no one explained to me what would happen to my body when I went into puberty or any other aspect of life (physical and emotional). That’s just the ‘way it was/is’. I learned to ‘just move on’. That doesn’t mean I didn’t have ‘feelings’. It just means that I am NOT my emotions and do NOT live my life via my feelings or emotions.

Joan said…A child grows up loving and interacting with the family that raises that child. Love, affection good times, and sorow happened. Many relatives died, funerals, weddings, and graduations and gatherings…church, school, all normal. That does not get whiped out of existance just because of a reunion.

Gert comments…Joan seems to think she’s the ONLY person who ever grew up with family members that were cruel and heartless. That’s the only explanation I get from her constant streams of rehashing how her adoptive extended family behaved towards her. Joan’s constant focus on ‘her’ life, also, over-shadowed her own children’s lives. They were mentally, emotionally and physically abused by Joan. She documented it in that book, which she said was a ‘true account’. If so…or not…why tell the horrors she DID to her own children?

Joan said…My adoptive mother is nearing her 94rd birthday. She cannot be left alone as she cannot walk very well. She is dying of a blood cancer, a form of leukemia. She has other medical issues as well. I am her only daughter, so I am her health care proxy. Mom’s only sister is far more sick than Mom is. And her brothers died many years ago. Just a handfull of relatives coem by to help once in a while, but mostly, it is me taking Mom to hospitals.

Gert comments…Joan has LIVED with the adoptive mother, in the same house, for MOST of her life! So why is Joan complaining that it was up to her to care for the elderly mother? Joan never bothered to care whether she was a burden to the mother all those years! Truth is Joan took advantage of the mother! And in her old-age illness, is (was)being exploited by Joan, for Joan’s OWN personal pity-party! And Joan/Doris still lives in that same house!

Joan said…My natural father had open heart surgery just before Christmas 2003. He recovered, but needs medical care. His 3rd wife, my stepmother, had a stroke a few years ago. For several years, I shared taking care of them with my two step sisters. But within this past year, I had to bow out. Since Dad has other adult children, he has others to help, including my full blood sisters and half brother. But they are not much help, my step sisters do most of the work. I did, too, but now I have to give more to take care of my Mother.

Gert comments…And here we see, yet again, how Joan lies and misrepresents TRUE facts. Joan NEVER shared taking care of Dad. Joan VOLUNTEERED to drive him to doctor appointments and take step-mother to get groceries. Volunteering does not mean YOU get to make the rules!

Joan doesn’t tell what she did to ‘these elderly parents’. Joan would put items she wanted in the grocery cart and the step-mother would pay for them, not realizing it until after they left the store and Joan took her items saying she’d pay later for them but never did.

Joan DEMANDED my father pay for her car repairs! When Dad told her he’s not responsible for her car repairs she argued with him to the point where he told her he ‘doesn’t need her help and that she should ‘call before coming over’; in other words Dad didn’t want her there and that’s why she ‘bowed out’. Joan never tells the entire truth, only her view of it!

What and how the ‘other’ children gave to our parents is none of Joan’s business nor concern. She volunteered, no one had a gun to her head.

Joan said…And when my father went in for his surgery, my adoptive Mom was very concerned. She prayed for him and his recovery. We went to visit him. And my step sister helped me learn how to test Mom’s blood when she needed blood sugar tests for a period of time.

Gert comments…well I have no knowledge of this. One of our step-sisters is a nurse and so it is possible that she helped Joan. It also was this same step-sister who was health-care proxy and primary care-giver to my father and step-mother, her mother. Joan NEVER tells the entire truth of a situation.

Joan said…So, you see, John, while I do have anger and resentment at the way my adoptive parents handled disclosing or not disclosing the truth to me, and at the way I was treated for the past 35 years of reunion and as an activist, I can still be compassionate toward my adoptive mother.

Gert comments.. ‘compassion’ is NOT in Joan nature! There was NO compassion, given, to anyone whom she wrote about in that libelous book. She wrote the book to ‘get back at everyone for her being adopted’. Joan needed to ‘keep’ the adoptive mother AT HOME under her care, so when the woman died Joan would get the house! Joan refused to consider placing her mother in a nursing home solely because of the HOUSE. My father suggested to Joan that she should move in an apartment, which happened to be in the same complex where my father lived. But, Joan refused because she believed that she would be ‘under the thumb of father and then would have to take care of him’; she wrote all about that in that book! Joan still lives in that house, long since the adoptive mother died and Joan is constantly LOOKING for someone, a sugar-daddy, to help her.

Joan said…I am hateful and bitter at society’s myths and taboos about adoption and all that was put upon me by otehrs. Had I been left alone to deal with my reunion between myself, my siblings, and my two sets of parents, the reunion would have been much smoother.

Gert comments…If her hatred is related to ‘society’ then why did she violate my parental rights when I decided to adopt? Oh, you don’t know about that! She was in her 20’s, without a social worker degree, when she DECIDED that I was wrong for adopting, with my 2nd husband, my son! She called me unfit, told my minor children they did not have to listen to me, and called false child abuse reports on me, twice!

What she is saying here is NOT correct, she isn’t ‘hateful and bitter’ at society, but at the extended adoptive family members, who would NOT leave her alone.

Joan said…None of this should have happened the way it did.

Gert comments… Well funny thing about life…it HAPPENS as it happens and we just have to live with the cards we were given and make the best of it. This is what Joan has never learned! That is why she is so hateful and bitter and angry…because her life is not what she wanted.

And so she continues on and on…and so shall I.

end

One Comment
  1. Reblogged this on duped by adoption & an woman's Struggle for Identity, a book study and commented:

    check out ALL six in this series…links are within post

Leave a Reply

